Vancouver Centre

Jesse Brown has been involved in Vancouver Centre’s local community for more than a decade, first as a volunteer and educator with YouthCO – a youth-led organization that works on issues related to sexual health and harm reduction. Later, he served as the organization’s Community Engagement Manager, then Executive Director (2011-2016). He is currently serving as the Executive Director of the Vancouver Friends for Life Society – a much needed organization that provides wellness services to those with life threatening health conditions. 

Jesse is running as he believes it’s time to elect a new generation of voices to Ottawa. He feels the current federal government has failed to represent the constituents of Vancouver Centre on the issues that matter most, such as the housing affordability crisis and the need to transition to an environmentally sustainable economy. 

Jesse grew up in the local community of Ladner on the unceded territory of the Tsaswwassen people. On this land, he developed a passion for our natural environment spending many days and weekends exploring and enjoying the local estuary.

In 2009, he relocated from Ladner to Vancouver and completed a bachelor’s degree at the University of British Columbia. He currently lives in the West End of Vancouver with his partner Aaron, two step-daughters, and their dachshund Jimmy.

Vancouver-Centre

Jesse Brown est impliqué dans la communauté locale de Vancouver-Centre depuis plus d'une décennie, d'abord à titre de bénévole et d'éducateur auprès de YouthCO - un organisme dirigé par des jeunes qui travaillent sur des questions liées à la santé sexuelle et à la réduction des préjudices. Par la suite, il agit à titre de gestionnaire de l'engagement communautaire de l'organisme, puis comme directeur général (2011-2016). Il est actuellement directeur général de la Vancouver Friends for Life Society, un organisme dont on a grandement besoin pour offrir des services aux personnes atteintes d'une maladie qui menace leur vie. 

Jesse présente sa candidature car il croit qu'il est temps d'élire une nouvelle génération de voix à Ottawa. Il estime que le gouvernement fédéral actuel n'a pas réussi à représenter les électeurs de Vancouver-Centre sur les questions qui comptent le plus, comme la crise de l'abordabilité du logement et la nécessité de faire la transition vers une économie verte. 

Jesse grandit dans la communauté locale de Ladner, sur le territoire non cédé du peuple Tsaswwassen. Sur cette terre, il développe une passion pour notre environnement naturel en passant plusieurs jours et fins de semaine à explorer et à profiter de l'estuaire local.

En 2009, il déménage de Ladner à Vancouver et obtient un baccalauréat à l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique. Il vit actuellement dans le West End de Vancouver avec sa partenaire Aaron, ses deux belles-filles et leur teckel Jimmy.