South Surrey—White Rock

Since her retirement in 2014, Beverly “Pixie” Hobby has been practicing environmental law representing citizens groups in South Surrey and White Rock, and advising law firms representing First Nations. She serves on the Board of Directors of the Dunsmuir Community Garden Group, the Unity Church of White Rock, and the Turkana Empowerment Project, an African educational charity. Pixie volunteers at Seeds for Change, an initiative to address food insecurity in Surrey, and at Surrey Threshold Singers, a choir sponsored by Surrey Hospice Society. 

Pixie has practiced environmental law since 1988. Her legal career began in 1981 in the Tax Litigation Section of the Department of Justice in Ottawa. In 1988, she moved to Environment Canada to work on federal-provincial cooperation in implementing the Canadian Environmental Protection Act (CEPA), and later on the development of an International Convention on Climate Change. In 1989, she prepared Canada’s amicus curiae brief and assisted US Counsel in the Acid Rain Appeal before the US Court of Appeals.

In 1990, Pixie was assigned to the Federal Environmental Assessment Review Office —now the Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency— as Instructing Counsel for the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act (CEAA). Then, in 1993, Pixie joined the Indian Affairs Department where she worked on sectoral self-government regimes for the management of land and forestry, which formed the basis for the First Nations Land Management Act.

In 1995, Pixie became counsel to Environment Canada’s Pacific and Yukon Regional Office. There she was involved in litigation relating to environmental protection and assessment, and worked on the negotiating guidelines on environmental matters for use in the British Columbia Treaty Process. 

After joining Justice’s Vancouver Office in 2008, Pixie was counsel in most major review panels established under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act for environmental oversight of major projects across Canada. 

In her spare time, Pixie enjoys playing music with friends, organic gardening, beekeeping, kayaking, sailing, skiing and hiking.

Surrey-Sud—White Rock

Depuis sa retraite en 2014, Beverly « Pixie » Hobby pratique le droit de l'environnement en tant que représentante de groupes de citoyens à South Surrey et White Rock, et conseillère de cabinets d'avocats représentant les Premières Nations. Elle siège au conseil d'administration du Dunsmuir Community Garden Group, de la Unity Church of White Rock et du Turkana Empowerment Project, une organisation caritative éducative africaine. Pixie fait du bénévolat à Seeds for Change, une initiative visant à lutter contre l'insécurité alimentaire à Surrey, et à Surrey Threshold Singers, une chorale commanditée par la Surrey Hospice Society. 

Pixie s’intéresse au droit de l'environnement depuis 1988. Sa carrière juridique débute en 1981 à la Section du contentieux des affaires fiscales du ministère de la Justice à Ottawa. En 1988, elle se joint à Environnement Canada pour travailler à la coopération fédérale-provinciale dans la mise en oeuvre de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (LCPE), puis à l'élaboration d'une Convention internationale sur les changements climatiques. En 1989, elle prépare le mémoire d'amicus curiae du Canada et aide les avocats américains dans le cadre de l'appel sur les pluies acides devant la Cour d'appel des États-Unis.

En 1990, Pixie est affectée au Bureau fédéral d'examen des évaluations environnementales - maintenant l'Agence canadienne d'évaluation environnementale - à titre de conseillère juridique pour la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale (LCEE). Puis, en 1993, Pixie intègre ministère des Affaires indiennes où elle travaille sur les régimes sectoriels d'autonomie gouvernementale pour la gestion des terres et des forêts, qui servent de base à la Loi sur la gestion des terres des Premières nations.

En 1995, Pixie devient avocate au bureau régional du Pacifique et du Yukon d'Environnement Canada. Elle est impliquée dans des litiges relatifs à la protection et à l'évaluation de l'environnement et travaille sur les directives de négociation sur les questions environnementales à utiliser dans le cadre du processus des traités de la Colombie-Britannique. 

Après son passage au bureau de Vancouver du ministère de la Justice en 2008, Pixie fut avocate au sein de la plupart des grandes commissions d'examen établies en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale pour la surveillance environnementale des grands projets au Canada. 

Dans ses temps libres, Pixie aime jouer de la musique avec ses amis, jardiner bio, faire de l'apiculture, du kayak, de la voile, du ski et de la randonnée pédestre.