South Okanagan—West Kootenay

Tara Howse has a career background in community economic development, a field that has given her experience on a broad range of social justice issues. A social scientist, she is a strong proponent of mixed-methodology approaches when researching an issue, as she believes you have to see multiple sides of a problem to find the best solution. With an undergrad degree in criminal justice, she is currently completing a Masters of Integrated Studies in Global Change and Equity Issues, looking at the concepts of trust, postcolonial theory and intersectionality.

Although Tara is new to the Green Party and a first-time political candidate, her strong focus on justice, transparency and equitable access aligns well with the founding principles of the green movement. As a former member and eventual Chair of the Rossland Sustainability Commission, she has experience listening to and valuing differing visions of development and progress in a community. She is excited about this opportunity to be part of a party that has a clear vision for transparent governance, participatory democracy and addressing human needs, all while respecting the planet. 

In her spare time you will often find Tara outdoors or, if not outdoors yet, scheming for a reason to get outside. She cycled across Canada in 2010 with her husband and dog, hiked the CANOL Heritage Trail in the Northwest Territories in 2014, hiked the California section of the Pacific Crest Trail in 2015, and, in spring 2019, is attempting a thru-bike of the Arizona Trail. Obviously a lover of big adventures, she is most passionate about encouraging other women to be active outside and loves supporting women entering a new sport.

Okanagan-Sud—Kootenay-Ouest

Tara Howse a fait carrière dans le développement économique communautaire, un domaine qui lui a permis d'acquérir de l'expérience sur une vaste gamme de questions de justice sociale. Spécialiste en sciences sociales, elle est une fervente partisane des approches à méthodes mixtes dans la recherche d'une question, car elle croit qu'il faut analyser les multiples facettes d'un problème pour trouver la meilleure solution. Titulaire d'un baccalauréat en justice pénale, elle termine actuellement une maîtrise en études intégrées sur le changement planétaire et les questions d'équité, qui porte sur les concepts de confiance, de théorie postcoloniale et d'intersectionnalité.

Bien que Tara soit nouvelle au sein du Parti vert et qu'elle se présente pour la première fois comme candidate politique, l'importance qu'elle accorde à la justice, à la transparence et à l'accès équitable cadre bien avec les principes fondateurs du mouvement vert. En tant qu'ancienne membre et future présidente de la Rossland Sustainability Commission, elle a acquis de l'expérience en écoutant et en valorisant différentes visions du développement et du progrès dans une communauté. Elle est enthousiaste à l'idée de faire partie d'un parti qui propose une vision claire de la gouvernance transparente, de la démocratie participative et de la satisfaction des besoins humains, tout en respectant la planète. 

Dans ses temps libres, vous trouverez souvent Tara à l'extérieur ou, si elle n’est pas encore à l'extérieur, elle cherche une raison d'aller dehors. Elle a parcouru le Canada à vélo en 2010 avec son mari et son chien, le sentier du patrimoine CANOL dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest en 2014, la section californienne du sentier Pacific Crest en 2015 et, au printemps 2019, elle a tenté de traverser l'Arizona à vélo. Évidemment une amoureuse des grandes aventures, elle est très passionnée par l'encouragement des autres femmes à être actives à l'extérieur et adore soutenir les femmes qui s'engagent dans un nouveau sport.