Saanich—Gulf Islands

Elizabeth May is an environmentalist, a lawyer, an author, an activist, a mother, grandmother, and friend. Most recently she married John Kidder, gaining 3 more daughters and 7 grandchildren.  ,

From 1986 - 88 she worked as senior policy advisor to the minister of environment in the Mulroney government. From 1989 - 2006 she was the director of the Sierra Club. Among her many awards, in 2005 she joined the Order of Canada at the Officer level-our country's highest citizen honour-awarded for her years of service in the environmental movement. In November, 2010, Newsweek magazine named her "one of the world's most influential women."
Among her accomplishments working as the Saanich - Gulf Islands MP, she sponsored several private member's bills, including the Lyme Disease Act which the House and Senate passed unanimously. Twice yearly, Elizabeth holds town hall meetings in eight locations across her diverse riding. Her constituents eagerly attend, as she reports on House of Commons events, answers questions and listens compassionately to concerns - definitely doing politics differently. By the end of her first year as MP, her record overflowed with more than two dozen awards, doctorates and distinctions.

She was the only MP in the 41st parliament to prevent the closing of a science centre in her riding-convincing the Harper administration to reverse their decision to close the Plant Health Sciences. This has brought tens of millions of dollars of federal investment into Saanich - Gulf Islands.

By a vote of all MPs, she was chosen as Maclean's magazine's 2012 Parliamentarian of the Year. In 2013, Hardest Working MP. In 2014, Best Orator.  In both 2013 and 2014, The Hill Times declared her the Hardest Working MP, Best Constituency MP and Best Public Speaker.
By 2017, she had presented more amendments to legislation than any single MP in history. By 2019, her second bill to become law made it illegal to keep cetaceans (dolphins and whales) in captivity.

Elizabeth is the author of eight books, holds two honorary doctorates and has practiced law in Nova Scotia and Ontario. Sidney, BC, has been her home since 2009.

Saanich—Gulf Islands

Elizabeth May est une écologiste, une avocate, une auteure, une militante, une mère, une grand-mère et une amie. Plus récemment, elle a épousé John Kidder, ajoutant 3 filles et 7 petits-enfants supplémentaires à sa belle et grande famille.

De 1986 à 1988, elle a été conseillère principale en politiques auprès du ministre de l'Environnement du gouvernement Mulroney. De 1989 à 2006, elle a été directrice du Sierra Club. Parmi les nombreuses distinctions qu'elle a reçues, elle s'est jointe à l'Ordre du Canada en 2005 - la plus haute distinction citoyenne de notre pays - en reconnaissance de ses années de service au sein du mouvement environnemental. En novembre 2010, le magazine Newsweek l'a nommée « l'une des femmes les plus influentes du monde ».

Parmi ses réalisations en tant que députée de Saanich - Gulf Islands, elle a parrainé plusieurs projets de loi d'initiative parlementaire, dont la Loi sur la maladie de Lyme adoptée à l'unanimité par la Chambre et le Sénat. Deux fois par année, Elizabeth tient des assemblées publiques dans huit endroits de sa circonscription. Ses électeurs y assistent avec avec enthousiasme alors qu'elle rend compte des activités de la Chambre des communes, répond aux questions et écoute avec compassion les préoccupations de ses concitoyens et concitoyennes, ce qui lui permet de faire de la politique différemment. À la fin de sa première année comme députée, son dossier débordait avec plus d'une vingtaine de prix et distinctions.

Elle fut la seule députée de la 41e législature à empêcher la fermeture d'un centre des sciences dans sa circonscription - convainquant l'administration Harper de revenir sur sa décision de fermer le programme des sciences phytosanitaires. Le gouvernement fédéral a ainsi investi des dizaines de millions de dollars dans Saanich - Gulf Islands.

À la suite d'un vote de tous les députés, elle a été élue parlementaire de l'année 2012 par le magazine Maclean's. En 2013, elle remporte le prix du député qui travaille le plus dur. En 2014, elle ajoute le prix du meilleur orateur à sa collection.  En 2013 et 2014, le Hill Times l'a élue députée qui travaille le plus fort, meilleure députée et meilleure oratrice.
En 2017, elle avait présenté plus de modifications législatives que tout autre député de l'histoire.

En 2019, son deuxième projet de loi a rendu illégal le maintien en captivité des cétacés (dauphins et baleines).

Elizabeth est l'auteure de huit livres, détient deux doctorats honorifiques et a pratiqué le droit en Nouvelle-Écosse et en Ontario. Elle habite à Sidney, C.-B. depuis 2009.