North Vancouver

George Orr spent his formative years in Toronto, but has now called the North Shore home for over 40 years. He is blessed by three splendid grown children and supported by his loving life partner, Anne. Despite having children who live in Mexico and Australia, his family considers Vancouver to be their home.

George has worked as a cabinet-maker, BC-based reporter, educator for journalists and police, and as an award winning documentary producer on historical and social issues. As a journalist, he worked in Vancouver’s major broadcast newsrooms through an objective lens that served to form his worldview. As a filmmaker, he has explored complicated issues by taking the time and care required to make each individual story make sense. He has made his career a life-long study of how we inform ourselves about the world around us.

In addition to his professional work, George has coached his children’s soccer teams, and is an avid amatuer rugby and hockey player. He also holds a 2nd Degree Black Belt in Taekwondo. All-in-all, George has stood on countless sidelines in the sun, rain, and snow cheering on his kids and getting to know his neighbours.

George’s environmental and political beliefs were shaped by Rachel Carson’s Silent Spring and his involvement as a founding member of Canada’s premier environmental group, Pollution Probe. As a Boomer, George knows that his generation was responsible for great accomplishments. Sadly, many of these actions were short-sighted and have also led us down a dark path of environmental unsustainability. He believes we are now at the tipping point, and that we must act to protect this beautiful piece of the universe we call home. He considers it his duty to leverage his skills, experience, and knowledge to carve out a space in the political arena that will allow us to enact real, lasting change.

Vancouver Nord

George Orr a passé ses années de formation à Toronto, mais il habite maintenant North Shore depuis plus de 40 ans. Il a trois magnifiques enfants enfants et il est soutenu par sa compagne de vie, Anne. Bien que ses enfants vivent au Mexique et en Australie, ils considèrent Vancouver comme leur foyer.

George a travaillé comme ébéniste, comme journaliste en Colombie-Britannique, comme éducateur pour les journalistes et la police et comme producteur de documentaires traitant de questions historiques et sociales. En tant que journaliste, il a travaillé dans les principales salles de nouvelles de Vancouver et cela a contribué à forger sa vision du monde. En tant que cinéaste, il a exploré des questions complexes en prenant le temps et le soin nécessaires pour que chacune des histoires qu’il raconte ait un sens. Il a fait de sa carrière une étude de toute une vie sur la façon dont nous nous informons sur le monde qui nous entoure.

En plus de son travail professionnel, George a entraîné les équipes de soccer de ses enfants et il est un joueur de rugby et de hockey passionné. Il est également titulaire d'une ceinture noire de 2e degré en taekwondo. Dans l'ensemble, George s'est tenu sur d'innombrables lignes de touche sous le soleil, la pluie et la neige, encourageant ses enfants et apprenant à connaître ses voisins.

Les convictions environnementales et politiques de George ont été façonnées par le livre Silent Spring de Rachel Carson et son engagement en tant que membre fondateur du principal groupe environnemental du Canada, Pollution Probe. En tant que baby-boomer, George sait que sa génération est responsable de certains grands accomplissements. Malheureusement, bon nombre de ces mesures étaient seulement bénéfiques à court terme et nous ont également menés sur la voie sombre de la non-durabilité environnementale. Il croit que nous sommes maintenant à un moment charnière et que nous devons agir pour protéger notre planète. Il considère qu'il est de son devoir de mettre à profit ses compétences, son expérience et ses connaissances pour se tailler une place dans l'arène politique. Il aspire à apporter des changements réels et durables.