Coquitlam—Port Coquitlam

Though Brad Nickason was born in Barrhead, Alberta, just a short distance from the oil sands, he was raised and molded in the rugged western landscape of Kamloops, British Columbia. As a young person, he moved to Vancouver to study art and theatre. He has lived with his wife Susan in Port Coquitlam for over thirty years, and together they raised their three daughters, Emily, Rachel, and Elizabeth, here. 

Making a life as an illustrator, graphic designer, artist, and publisher of children's educational activity books, Brad has been an active participant in his community, coaching as well as volunteering. Brad sits on the board of the Evergreen Cultural Centre in Coquitlam, is the Chairperson for the Visual Arts Committee, and he also sits on the city's Culture Services Advisory Committee. As well, Brad is a board member of the Port Coquitlam Arts Council (FLSS) and organizes with local mental health and environmental advocacy groups in the area.

With a robust and community-driven voice, Brad has advocated for people's right to a sustainable environment, while striving to bridge the gap between society's needs and the realities of the natural world. He fears that expedient, short-sighted economic interests are running out the clock on humanity, even though proven alternative options have existed for years. He sees the Green Party as the only un-compromised, viable political option for addressing the existential threat of the climate crisis.   

Brad ran for the Green Party in the 2015 federal election in his riding of Coquitlam—Port Coquitlam, employing a campaign that worked to create awareness around environmental concerns as well as the party in general. The strategy successfully changed the local candidate's conversations. With a great team of dedicated volunteers, Brad found that knocking on doors, they could offer a positive alternative that the public was eager to consider. 

Brad's purpose for running in 2019 is to continue that work and to fulfill the promise of what Canada was becoming in his formative years, a diverse, inspiring, compassionate country of hope, health, and peace. His goal is to leave a world to his children and future generations in which they can thrive. Canada is a vast country with much to share with the world, Brad thinks progressive stewardship, and mindful, unencumbered representation is key to maintaining that vision. He passionately believes a healthy, protected environment with clean water, air, and soil is the foundation on which it must be built.

Coquitlam—Port Coquitlam

Bien que Brad Nickason soit né à Barrhead, en Alberta, à une courte distance des sables bitumineux, il a grandi dans le paysage accidenté de l'ouest de Kamloops, en Colombie-Britannique. Dans sa jeunesse, il a déménagé à Vancouver pour étudier l'art et le théâtre. Il vit avec son épouse Susan à Port Coquitlam depuis plus de trente ans et ils y ont élevé ensemble leurs trois filles Emily, Rachel et Elizabeth. 

Brad est illustrateur, graphiste, artiste et éditeur de livres d'activités éducatives pour enfants et il a été un membre actif de sa communauté en tant qu'entraîneur et bénévole. Brad siège au conseil d'administration du Evergreen Cultural Centre à Coquitlam, il est président du comité des arts visuels et il siège également au comité consultatif des services culturels de la ville. De plus, Brad est membre du conseil d'administration du Port Coquitlam Arts Council (FLSS) et travaille avec des groupes locaux de défense de la santé mentale et de l'environnement dans la région.

D'une voix forte et communautaire, Brad a défendu le droit des gens à un environnement sain tout en s'efforçant de combler l'écart entre les besoins de la société et les réalités du monde naturel. Il craint que des intérêts économiques opportunistes et à courte vue n'épuisent l'humanité, même si des options de remplacement éprouvées existent depuis des années. Il considère le Parti vert comme la seule option politique viable et sans compromis pour faire face à la menace existentielle de la crise climatique.   

Brad s'est présenté aux élections fédérales de 2015 dans sa circonscription, Coquitlam-Port Coquitlam, où il a mené une campagne de sensibilisation aux préoccupations environnementales et au Parti en général. Grâce à une grande équipe de bénévoles dévoués, Brad a découvert qu'en frappant aux portes, il pouvait offrir une solution de rechange positive adaptée aux besoins de la population. 

L'objectif de Brad en 2019 est de poursuivre ce travail pour que le Canada devienne un pays diversifié, inspirant et compatissant d'espoir, de santé et de paix. Son but est de léguer à ses enfants et aux générations à venir un monde dans lequel ils pourront s'épanouir. Le Canada est un vaste pays qui a beaucoup à partager avec le monde. Brad estime qu'une mentalité progressiste est essentielle pour maintenir cette vision. Il croit passionnément qu'un environnement sain et protégé avec de l'eau, de l'air et des sols propres est impérativement nécessaire.