Burnaby North—Seymour

Amita Kuttner is a scientist who studies black holes and the early universe. She has obtained her PhD in astrophysics in June 2019. The Green Party Critic for Science and Innovation Policy, she plans to utilize her scientific training to bring important experience and perspectives to government, and to implement evidence-based policy aimed at solving the unique problems our communities, country and planet face.

Amita has personally experienced the impacts of extreme weather. Soon after she turned fourteen years old, her mother was killed when their family home in North Vancouver was destroyed by a mudslide. Her father survived, but sustained injuries and brain damage that have forever altered his life. Her sense of duty to serve was greatly informed by her mother, a beloved college instructor who was dedicated to diversity and empowerment. Amita has tried to follow in her footsteps by leading the Women in Physics and Astronomy group at her university and co-founding a chapter of 314 Action, an advocacy group that works to get scientists into elected positions to enact evidence-based policy.

The perspective Amita has gained from studying the cosmos and surviving tragedy has led her to value every day, and work tirelessly to protect the earth and its inhabitants. She is deeply concerned about the environment, the effects of job automation, and the rapid advancements in artificial intelligence and other emerging technologies.

In her spare time, Amita is an accomplished singer and performer. She was lucky enough to make a choral premiere at Carnegie Hall and perform mass at St. Peter's Basilica. As the MP for Burnaby North—Seymour, she would remain devoted to the preservation of arts and culture.

Amita looks forward to working on behalf of all her constituents to shape a future that is equitable and just.

Burnaby-Nord—Seymour

Amita Kuttner est une scientifique qui étudie les trous noirs et l'univers primitif. Elle a obtenu son doctorat en astrophysique en juin 2019. Porte-parole du Parti vert en matière de politique de la science et de l'innovation, elle prévoit utiliser sa formation scientifique pour apporter une expérience et des perspectives importantes au gouvernement et pour mettre en œuvre une politique fondée sur des données probantes visant à résoudre les problèmes uniques auxquels nos collectivités, notre pays et notre planète sont confrontés.

Amita a personnellement vécu les effets des conditions météorologiques extrêmes. Peu après ses quatorze ans, sa mère a été tuée lorsque la maison familiale de North Vancouver a été détruite par une coulée de boue. Son père a survécu, mais il a subi des blessures et des lésions cérébrales qui ont changé sa vie à jamais. Son sens du devoir de servir a été grandement influencé par sa mère, une professeure d'université très appréciée qui se consacrait à la diversité et à l'autonomisation. Amita a essayé de suivre ses traces en dirigeant le groupe Women in Physics and Astronomy de son université et en participant à la rédaction d’un chapitre de 314 Action, un groupe de revendication qui s'efforce d'amener les scientifiques à occuper des postes élus afin d'adopter des politiques fondées sur des preuves.

La perspective qu'Amita a acquise en étudiant le cosmos et en survivant à la tragédie l'a amenée à apprécier chaque jour et à travailler sans relâche pour protéger la terre et ses habitants. Elle est profondément préoccupée par l'environnement, les effets de l'automatisation du travail et les progrès rapides de l'intelligence artificielle et d'autres technologies émergentes.

Dans ses temps libres, Amita est une chanteuse et une interprète accomplie. Elle a eu la chance de faire une première chorale au Carnegie Hall et de célébrer la messe à la Basilique Saint-Pierre. En tant que députée de Burnaby North-Seymour, elle demeurera dévouée à la préservation des arts et de la culture.

Amita a hâte de travailler au nom de tous ses électeurs pour façonner un avenir équitable et juste.