Abbotsford

Stephen Fowler has been a teacher in Abbotsford, British Columbia, for over 20 years. He is an environmentalist, bike rider, reader and social activist who has lived in the Fraser Valley and Lower Mainland for over 50 years. He believes climate change is a threat to the existence of humankind, and that it can be defeated through leadership that places the importance of society and the environment on an equal footing with economic planning.

Born in Cirencester, England, Stephen moved to British Columbia with his family in 1963. He grew up in Maple Ridge where he went to school, enjoyed his proximity to nature, and worked in a variety of local businesses. Following high-school, Stephen spent four years on the green chain at Whonnock Lumber Sawmill. In 1984, he left Maple Ridge to experience post-secondary education.

For 15 years, Stephen was educated, trained, and employed in the entertainment industry. Those years allowed him the opportunity to experience a variety of on-and-off stage work. During these years, Stephen was also employed by Canada Post, Greyhound and Royal City Taxi. He is proud of his life and employment experiences; he believes they are part of what has given him the perspective to see life through many lenses.

In 1991, Stephen returned to school to pursue a Bachelor of Education and the teaching degree that has allowed him to be employed by the Abbotsford School District these last 23 years. During this time, Stephen has volunteered extensively to help improve each student’s school experience. He is and has been a member of the school Focus Team, coach of the boys and girls’ soccer teams, a regular chaperone at school dances and other student activities, leader of the school’s leadership team, editor of many valedictorian speeches, a founder of the school’s Green Team, and organizer of the annual convocation ceremonies. These connections with students are a major reason Stephen enjoys teaching.

Stephen believes the Green Party is the only party in Canada that has the policy platform to lead Canada away from climate change disaster and into a sustainable future. His upbringing taught him that people and the environment are worth as much as the economy and probably more. When Stephen read Vision Green and saw the equity between the people, the environment and the economy, he knew the Green Party was for him. He believes Green policy offers a good outline for the comprehensive societal and sustainable change that must be undertaken to ensure that Canadians, our environment and our economy have a healthy future.

Abbotsford

Stephen Fowler enseigne à Abbotsford, en Colombie-Britannique, depuis plus de 20 ans. Écologiste, cycliste, lecteur et militant social, il habite dans la vallée du Fraser et le Lower Mainland depuis plus de 50 ans. Il croit que le changement climatique constitue une menace pour l'existence de l'humanité et qu'il peut être vaincu par un leadership qui place la société et l'environnement sur un pied d'égalité avec la planification économique.

Né à Cirencester, en Angleterre, Stephen a déménagé en Colombie-Britannique avec sa famille en 1963. Il a grandi à Maple Ridge, où il est allé à l'école, a apprécié sa proximité de la nature et a travaillé dans diverses entreprises locales. Après ses études secondaires, Stephen a passé quatre ans sur la chaîne verte de la scierie Whonnock Lumber Sawmill. En 1984, il a quitté Maple Ridge pour poursuivre des études postsecondaires.

Pendant 15 ans, Stephen a été éduqué, formé et employé dans l'industrie du divertissement. Ces années lui ont permis de faire l'expérience d'une variété de travaux scéniques sur scène et hors scène. Au cours de ces années, Stephen a également travaillé pour Postes Canada, Greyhound et Royal City Taxi. Il est fier de ses expériences de vie et d'emploi ; il croit qu'elles font partie de ce qui lui a donné la perspective de voir la vie sous plusieurs angles.

En 1991, Stephen est retourné à l'école pour obtenir un baccalauréat en éducation et le diplôme d'enseignement qui lui a permis d'être employé par l'Abbotsford School District ces 23 dernières années. Pendant ce temps, Stephen a fait beaucoup de bénévolat pour contribuer à améliorer l'expérience scolaire de chaque élève. Il est et a été membre de l'équipe d'orientation de l'école, entraîneur de soccer, accompagnateur régulier aux danses de l'école et à d'autres activités scolaires, leader de l'équipe de direction de l'école, éditeur de plusieurs discours d'adieu, fondateur de l'équipe verte de l'école et organisateur de la cérémonie annuelle de la remise des diplômes. Ces liens avec les élèves représentent l'une des principales raisons pour lesquelles Stephen aime enseigner.

Stephen croit que le Parti vert est le seul parti au Canada qui propose la plate-forme politique pour éloigner le Canada de la catastrophe du changement climatique et le mener vers un avenir durable. Son éducation lui a appris que les gens et l'environnement valent autant voire plus que l’économie. Quand Stephen a lu la Vision verte et qu'il y a constaté des valeurs telles que l'équité entre les gens, l'environnement et l'économie, il a su que le Parti vert était pour lui. Il croit que la politique verte offre un bon aperçu des changements sociétaux globaux et durables qui doivent être entrepris pour assurer à la population, à notre environnement et à notre économie un avenir sain.