Sudbury

William “Bill” Crumplin credits his appreciation for nature to spending time with his paternal grandfather and reading National Geographic Magazine together when he was a kid. He has been a professor of geography and environmental studies since 1992.

Bill has taught at the Corner Brook Campus of Memorial University, Algoma University in Sault Ste. Marie, and has been at Laurentian University since 2003. At Laurentian, he has taught and researched environmental issues for seven distinct environmental studies courses in addition to coordinating the annual undergraduate field camps. He has also hosted a weekly 2-hour radio show, Earth Tracks, on Laurentian University’s CKLU radio station since 2014, with each episode focusing on an environmental theme.

Bill has decided to run as a candidate for the Green Party for a few reasons. First, he is extremely frustrated by the fact that none of the other parties have meaningful environmental planks in their platforms. Second, he is convinced that our environment has been damaged to the extent that we have very little time to act, and appreciates that the Green Party of Canada is the only party with a plan for immediate action. Third, he has been encouraging his students for years to involve themselves in issues that they feel strongly about and that are neglected by politicians and business interests. As a result, he feels it is time to walk the talk and act as a role model for his students and colleagues by running and focusing on environmental issues.

Bill lost his wonderful wife of four years, Donna Williams, in April of 2016, after a brief experience with a relatively rare condition, amyloidosis. He is also a cancer survivor and has been cancer free since November 2016. Bill still plays pick-up hockey once or twice a week as a goalie and he loves to walk his dog by Lake Ramsey. He also owns a cat, enjoys craft beer and supporting local breweries and restaurants. Whenever possible, he loves to experience the lakes, parks and landscape of the Near North regions of Ontario. Put simply, he loves spending time in nature and with his friends and animals.

Above all else, Bill is running because he wants to be able to look at his great nieces and nephews and tell them that he did something — he hopes you join him on that mission!

Sudbury

William « Bill » Crumplin attribue son appréciation de la nature au fait de passer du temps avec son grand-père paternel et de lire avec lui le magazine National Geographic quand il était enfant. Il est professeur de géographie et d'études environnementales depuis 1992.

Bill a enseigné au campus Corner Brook de l'Université Memorial, à l'Université Algoma de Sault Ste-Marie et à l'Université Laurentienne depuis 2003. À l'Université Laurentienne, il a enseigné et fait de la recherche sur les questions environnementales dans le cadre de sept cours distincts en études environnementales en plus de coordonner les camps de terrain annuels de premier cycle. Depuis 2014, il anime également une émission de radio hebdomadaire de deux heures, Earth Tracks, sur la station de radio CKLU de l'Université Laurentienne, dont chaque épisode porte sur un thème environnemental.

Bill a décidé de se présenter comme candidat du Parti vert pour plusieurs raisons. Premièrement, il est extrêmement frustré par le fait qu'aucun des autres partis ne propose de plan environnemental significatif dans son programme électoral. Deuxièmement, il est convaincu que notre environnement a été endommagé au point où nous avons très peu de temps pour agir et il apprécie que le Parti vert du Canada soit le seul parti à présenter un plan d’urgence climatique. Troisièmement, il encourage depuis des années ses étudiants à s'impliquer dans des questions qui leur tiennent à cœur et qui sont négligées par les politiciens et les intérêts commerciaux. Par conséquent, il estime qu'il est temps de passer de la parole aux actes et de servir de modèle à ses élèves et à ses collègues en se concentrant sur les questions environnementales.

Bill a perdu sa merveilleuse épouse Donna Williams en avril 2016 après une brève expérience avec une maladie relativement rare, l'amylose. Il est également un survivant du cancer et est guéri depuis novembre 2016. Bill joue toujours au hockey une ou deux fois par semaine comme gardien de but et il adore promener son chien près du lac Ramsey. Il possède également un chat, il aime la bière artisanale et soutient les brasseries et restaurants locaux. Dans la mesure du possible, il aime découvrir les lacs, les parcs et les paysages des régions du Grand Nord de l'Ontario. En termes simples, il aime passer du temps dans la nature et avec ses amis et ses animaux.

Par-dessus tout, Bill se porte candidat parce qu'il veut pouvoir regarder ses neveux et ses nièces et leur dire qu'il a fait quelque chose - il espère que vous l'accompagnerez dans cette mission !