Stormont—Dundas—South Glengarry

Raheem Aman is a passionate community leader and environmental activist. He holds a Bachelor’s of Justice, Political Philosophy and Law from McMaster University, and hopes to pursue a career in law enforcement.

A proud Black Canadian, Raheem was born in Mississauga, raised in Brampton and educated in Hamilton. His family are immigrants from Barbados and Jamaica, and Raheem is actually the cousin of the first Prime Minister of Barbados, Errol Barrow. This family legacy has instilled in Raheem a commitment to the principles of inclusion and diversity that are embedded in our Charter of Rights and Freedoms.

Currently, Raheem works as a personal trainer and is committed to helping clients pursue a life of health, wellness and fitness. This merges with his commitment to sustainability and a vegetarian lifestyle. Raheem is dedicated to public service, and if he is not successful in his pursuit of public office, hopes to serve with the Canadian Armed Forces or the Cornwall Police Department in the near future.

Raheem was motivated to get involved in politics by environmental advocates including Elizabeth May and Mike Schreiner. He ran in his first federal election at the tender age of twenty-two, representing the Green Party in the riding of Hamilton Mountain in 2015, while pursuing his undergraduate degree at McMaster. Raheem is particularly inspired by the six core values of global greens: ecological wisdom, non-violence, social justice, sustainability, participatory democracy, and respect for diversity.

Raheem hopes to build off his past political experience and commitment to global green values  to run a campaign that inspires the residents of Stormont—Dundas—South Glengarry.

Stormont—Dundas—South Glengarry

Raheem Aman est un leader communautaire passionné et un activiste environnemental. Il est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en justice, en philosophie politique et en droit de l'Université McMaster et espère poursuivre une carrière dans l'application de la loi.

Fier Canadien noir, Raheem est né à Mississauga, a grandi à Brampton et a étudié à Hamilton. Sa famille est composée d'immigrants de la Barbade et de la Jamaïque, et Raheem est en fait le cousin du premier Premier ministre de la Barbade, Errol Barrow. Cet héritage familial a inculqué à Raheem un engagement envers les principes d'inclusion et de diversité qui sont intégrés dans notre Charte des droits et libertés.

Actuellement, Raheem travaille comme entraîneur personnel et s'engage à aider ses clients à mener une vie axée sur la santé, le bien-être et la mise en forme. Ceci complète bien son engagement en faveur de la durabilité et d'un mode de vie végétarien. Raheem est dévoué au service du public et, s'il ne réussit pas dans l'exercice de ses fonctions publiques, il espère servir dans les Forces armées canadiennes ou dans le service de police de Cornwall dans un avenir rapproché.

Raheem a été motivé à s'impliquer en politique par des défenseurs de l'environnement, dont Elizabeth May et Mike Schreiner. Il s'est présenté à sa première élection fédérale à l'âge de vingt-deux ans, représentant le Parti vert dans la circonscription de Hamilton Mountain en 2015, tout en poursuivant ses études de premier cycle à McMaster. Raheem s'inspire particulièrement des six valeurs fondamentales des Verts mondiaux : sagesse écologique, non-violence, justice sociale, durabilité, démocratie participative et respect de la diversité.

Raheem espère mettre à profit son expérience politique passée et son engagement envers les valeurs écologiques mondiales pour mener une campagne qui inspire les résidents de Stormont-Dundas-South Glengarry.