Toronto—St. Paul’s

Sarah Climenhaga is a longtime St. Paul's resident and a committed environmental advocate with a long history of work in the nonprofit sector and as a community volunteer. She is a mother of three who passionately believes in the need to ensure our economy protects that which our physical, mental and emotional health depends upon – clean air, pure water and a healthy natural environment.

Sarah received a BSc in Biology and Environmental Studies at McGill University, and went on to supplement that education with later coursework in environmental law, public transport and how to transition to a green economy. Following completion of her degree, she went on to hold managing and directing positions at non-profit organizations including the World Wildlife Fund and the Black Creek Transportation Management Association (which later became Smart Commute), before taking time off from paid work when the first of her three children was born in 2002.

While raising her children full-time, she devoted herself to volunteering by preparing and serving food at the Wychwood Open Doors drop-in centre, serving as the chair of the Humewood parent council, and being a media spokesperson for the St. Clair Streetcar Right of Way organization that successfully advocated for dramatically improved transit priority along St. Clair. She most recently ran for mayor of Toronto in 2018, and spotlighted areas where the city is falling behind including transportation, housing and poverty. In both radio and TV debates she pointed to clear, feasible solutions to tackling these challenges and received support across the city while running an extremely low cost grassroots campaign.

Sarah has watched with interest the growth of the Green Party the past several years, and made the decision to abandon failed strategic voting and vote Green a few years ago. She recently became more involved when she volunteered on Tim Grant's campaign to be the MPP in University Rosedale. While at WWF, she briefly worked with Elizabeth May on the campaign to stop the spring bear hunt, and has been captivated by the common sense, articulate and passionate approach of this exceptional leader. While she aligns herself with the Green platform in general, she greatly appreciates the focus on integrating economic policies with environmental ones. The other parties seem to treat these two as separate, to the detriment of both the environment and our economy.

With her parents, friends, family and three children living in a world beset by so many different environmental and economic threats, her greatest passion is to fight for a more vibrant future that embraces equality, opportunity and health for all living inhabitants of our beautiful country.

Toronto—St. Paul’s

Sarah Climenhaga est une résidente de longue date de St. Paul's et une défenseure engagée de l'environnement avec une longue histoire de travail dans le secteur communautaire sans but lucratif et comme bénévole communautaire. Elle est mère de trois enfants et croit passionnément à la nécessité de veiller à ce que notre économie protège ce dont dépend notre santé physique, mentale et émotionnelle - un air pur, une eau pure et un environnement naturel sain.

Sarah a obtenu un baccalauréat en biologie et en études environnementales de l'Université McGill qu'elle a complété par des cours en droit de l'environnement, en transport en commun et sur la transition vers une économie verte. Après l'obtention de son diplôme, elle a occupé des postes de gestion et de direction au sein d'organismes sans but lucratif, dont le Fonds mondial pour la nature et la Black Creek Transportation Management Association (devenue plus tard Smart Commute), avant de prendre congé de son travail rémunéré lorsque le premier de ses trois enfants est né en 2002.

Tout en élevant ses enfants à temps plein, elle s'est consacrée au bénévolat en préparant et en servant de la nourriture au centre d'accueil Wychwood Open Doors, en présidant le conseil des parents de Humewood et en étant porte-parole médiatique de l'organisme St. Clair Streetcar Right of Way qui a réussi à faire valoir la priorité du transport collectif le long de St. Plus récemment, elle s'est présentée à la mairie de Toronto en 2018 et a mis l'accent sur les secteurs où la ville accuse du retard, notamment le transport, le logement et la pauvreté. Dans les débats à la radio et à la télévision, elle a mis en avant des solutions claires et réalisables pour relever ces défis et a reçu un soutien dans toute la ville tout en menant une campagne locale à très faible coût.

Elle a observé avec intérêt la croissance du Parti vert au cours des dernières années et a pris la décision d'abandonner la mauvaise astuce du vote stratégique et de voter vert il y a quelques années. Elle s'est récemment impliquée davantage lorsqu'elle a fait du bénévolat dans la campagne de Tim Grant pour devenir député provincial  dans la circonscription  University Rosedale. Pendant son séjour au WWF, elle a brièvement travaillé avec Elizabeth May pour la campagne visant à mettre fin à la chasse printanière à l'ours et elle a été captivée par l'approche sensée, articulée et passionnée de cette chef exceptionnelle. Bien qu'elle s'aligne sur la plate-forme verte en général, elle apprécie grandement l'accent mis sur les liens entre les politiques économiques et environnementales. Les autres partis semblent les traiter séparément, au détriment de l'environnement et de l’économie.

Avec ses parents, ses amis, sa famille et ses trois enfants qui vivent dans un monde assailli par tant de menaces environnementales et économiques différentes, sa plus grande passion est de lutter pour un avenir plus dynamique qui priorise l'égalité des chances et la santé pour tous les habitants de notre beau pays.