Parry Sound—Muskoka

Gord Miller is an ecologist who has broad public recognition because of his service with the Ontario Legislature as the Environmental Commissioner of Ontario. In that capacity for 15 years he oversaw and reported on the governments of four Premiers with regard to their performance in protecting the natural environment, pursuing energy efficiency and reducing greenhouse gas emissions.
 
Gord is in semi-retirement after a long career focused on environmental protection which included 32 years in the public service and 6 years in the private sector. He continues to be heavily involved in environmental and sustainability issues though public speaking and sitting on the Boards of several organizations. 
 
For many years his public role precluded his participation in political matters but immediately after his retirement he ran as the Green Party Candidate in Guelph in the 2015 election. Subsequently he has acted as a shadow cabinet member of the GPC and senior policy advisor to the leader of the GPO. Last year he recruited and ran the campaign of a bright young GPO candidate in the electoral district of Nipissing.
 
Gord sees the 2019 Federal Election as a crucial turning point in Canadian history. The disruptions of the rapidly changing climate and the dire state of the biosphere pose challenges of a magnitude never before experienced even in times of world war. Yet the Canadian parliament is faltering and failing to respond to the situation.
 
The Green Party recognizes the seriousness of matters and how things must change in the way Parliament operates. The electorate is aware of how precarious our situation has become and their frustration with the political system is growing. The Green Party is poised to make a significant breakthrough in the 2019 election. Gord Miller wants to bring his voice and expertise as the Member for Parry Sound-Muskoka to the new parliament as it faces these challenges.

Parry Sound—Muskoka

Gord Miller est un écologiste qui bénéficie d'une large reconnaissance publique en raison de ses services à l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario à titre de commissaire à l'environnement. À ce titre, pendant 15 ans, il a supervisé les gouvernements de quatre premiers ministres et a fait rapport sur leur rendement en matière de protection de l'environnement naturel, d'efficacité énergétique et de réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre.
 
Gord est à la semi-retraite après une longue carrière axée sur la protection de l'environnement, dont 32 ans dans la fonction publique et 6 ans dans le secteur privé. Il continue de s'impliquer fortement dans les questions d'environnement et de développement durable en prenant la parole en public et en siégeant au conseil d'administration de plusieurs organisations. 
 
Pendant de nombreuses années, son rôle public l'a empêché de participer à la vie politique, mais immédiatement après sa retraite, il s'est présenté comme candidat du Parti vert à Guelph aux élections de 2015. Par la suite, il a été membre du cabinet fantôme du PVC et conseiller politique principal du dirigeant du PVO. L'an dernier, il a recruté et dirigé la campagne d'un jeune candidat brillant du PVO dans la circonscription électorale de Nipissing.
 
Gord considère l'élection fédérale de 2019 comme un tournant crucial dans l'histoire du Canada. Les perturbations causées par les changements climatiques rapides et l'état désastreux de la biosphère posent des défis d'une ampleur jamais vue auparavant, même en temps de guerre mondiale. Pourtant, le Parlement canadien hésite et ne réagit pas à la situation.
 
Le Parti vert reconnaît la gravité de la situation et la façon dont les choses doivent changer dans le fonctionnement du Parlement. L'électorat est conscient de la précarité de notre situation et de la frustration croissante qu'il éprouve à l'égard du système politique. Le Parti vert s'apprête à réussir une percée significative lors des élections de 2019. Gord Miller veut faire valoir sa voix et son expertise en tant que député de Parry Sound-Muskoka devant le nouveau Parlement pour relever ces défis.