Cambridge

Michele Braniff has had a varied career that included stints as a lawyer and mediator, middle manager of a non-profit mental health service provider, and as a professor at the post-secondary level. This involved teaching courses on social justice as part of a social service program at the college level, and as an adjunct professor teaching business law, governance, conflict resolution and negotiation at the University of Waterloo.

Michele has been a sole proprietor of her own businesses in law, mediation and team building, and has also been a small business advisor for start-up businesses focused on self-employment programs for youth and persons with disabilities. Currently, she is self-employed as an artist, storyteller and graphic facilitator. Michele has facilitated group discussions by offering graphic recording on a range of topics including: aboriginal visions for health care, poverty symposiums, improved race relations, wellness, and diversity.

In addition to her passion for visual art and storytelling, Michele enjoys a range of outdoor sports. A strong proponent of public transit and active transportation, she prefers to walk or take the train when commuting or running errands. She is also a strong supporter of eating local foods and is a frequent visitor of the Cambridge Farmers’ Market.

Michele is a proud grandmother and the mother of three adult children.

Cambridge

Michele Braniff a eu une carrière variée, notamment comme avocate et médiatrice, gestionnaire intermédiaire d'un fournisseur de services de santé mentale sans but lucratif, et professeure au niveau postsecondaire. Elle a notamment enseigné la justice sociale dans le cadre d'un programme de services sociaux au niveau collégial et à titre de professeure auxiliaire en droit des affaires, gouvernance, résolution de conflits et négociation à l'Université de Waterloo.

Michele a été propriétaire unique de ses propres entreprises en droit, en médiation et en développement de l'esprit d'équipe, en plus d'avoir été conseillère auprès de petites entreprises en démarrage axées sur les programmes de travail autonome pour les jeunes et les personnes handicapées. À l'heure actuelle, elle travaille à son compte en tant qu'artiste, conteuse et animatrice graphique. Michele a animé des discussions de groupe en offrant un enregistrement graphique sur un éventail de sujets, notamment : les visions autochtones en matière de soins de santé, les symposiums sur la pauvreté, l'amélioration des relations raciales, le mieux-être et la diversité.

En plus de sa passion pour les arts visuels et les contes, Michele aime les sports de plein air. Fervente partisane du transport en commun et du transport actif, elle préfère marcher ou prendre le train pour se rendre au travail ou faire ses courses. Elle est également une fervente partisane des aliments locaux et visite fréquemment le Cambridge Farmers' Market.

Michele est une fière grand-mère et mère de trois enfants adultes.