Saint-Laurent

Georgia Kokotsis is a semi-retired, self-employed consultant and single mother of an environmentally-aware teenager. Georgia has been a volunteer member of the Blue Dot Movement, a project of the David Suzuki Foundation, for several years and has participated in many awareness-raising events regarding climate change and the importance of fortifying our laws at the highest level to protect our precious environment. Lately she has been very active as a pledge leader meeting with several federal MP's and gathering their signed pledges that commits them to making it a constitutional right for every Canadian to enjoy clean air, fresh water, safe food and a healthy environment.

Georgia has a Bachelor of Science in Biochemistry and a Master's in Business Administration majoring in Marketing, both from McGill University. She is fluent in English, French and Greek and understands some Arabic because she lived in the Middle East for a few years. She is also a member of Sivananda, an international organization focused on Yoga and Peace. She loves cycling, kayaking and walking her dog.

Growing up, money was tight and Georgia had to work to help pay for her education. While she appreciated the fact that Quebec had low tuition fees and realized that she would not have been able to pursue her studies if that wasn't the case, she often felt the strain of working while studying, especially at exam time. Georgia believes that every Canadian should have the opportunity to pursue their dreams and advance their education and that should not only be available to those who can afford it.

A firm believer in balanced budgets, Georgia believes that as Canadians, we pay enough taxes to provide our students with free post-secondary education and to focus on jobs, technologies and industries that are green, clean, sustainable, environmentally-friendly and that will create more jobs, exports and growth of the Canadian economy. No new money would be needed, just a shift in the priorities of the government from a fossil-fuel-based economy to a green-based economy. During the transition, Georgia also believes that it is high time that the polluters clean up after themselves and stop declaring bankruptcy and leaving the cleanup expenses to the taxpayers.

Saint-Laurent

Georgia Kokotsis est une consultante semi-retraitée, travailleuse indépendante et mère célibataire d'un adolescent soucieux de l'environnement. Georgia est membre bénévole du Blue Dot Movement, un projet de la Fondation David Suzuki, depuis plusieurs années et a participé à de nombreuses manifestations de sensibilisation au changement climatique et à l'importance de renforcer nos lois au plus haut niveau pour protéger notre précieux environnement. Récemment, elle a été très active en tant que chef de file des promesses de dons, rencontrant plusieurs députés fédéraux et recueillant leurs promesses signées qui les engagent à faire du droit de chaque Canadien et chaque Canadienne de jouir d'air pur, d'eau douce, d'aliments sains et d'un environnement sain un droit constitutionnel.

Georgia est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en biochimie et d'une maîtrise en administration des affaires avec majeure en marketing de l'Université McGill. Elle parle couramment l'anglais, le français et le grec et comprend un peu l'arabe parce qu'elle a vécu au Moyen-Orient pendant quelques années. Elle est également membre de Sivananda, une organisation internationale axée sur le yoga et la paix. Elle adore faire du vélo, du kayak et marcher avec son chien.

En grandissant, l'argent était rare et Georgia a dû travailler pour payer ses études. Bien qu'elle ait apprécié le fait que les frais de scolarité étaient peu élevés au Québec et qu'elle ait réalisé qu'elle n'aurait pas pu poursuivre ses études si ce n'était pas le cas, elle a souvent ressenti le stress de travailler pendant ses études, surtout au moment des examens. Georgia croit que tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes devraient avoir la possibilité de réaliser leurs rêves et d’obtenir une éducation de qualité et que ceux qui en ont les moyens ne devraient pas être les seuls à y avoir accès.

Fervente partisane de l'équilibre budgétaire, Georgia croit qu'en tant que Canadiens, nous payons suffisamment d'impôts pour offrir à nos étudiants une éducation postsecondaire gratuite et pour nous concentrer sur des emplois, des technologies et des industries verts, propres, durables et écologiques qui créeront plus d'emplois, d'exportations et de croissance dans l'économie canadienne. Il n'y aurait pas besoin de nouveaux fonds, il suffirait que le gouvernement passe d'une économie axée sur les combustibles fossiles à une économie verte. Pendant la transition, Georgia estime également qu'il est grand temps que les pollueurs assument leurs responsabilités et cessent de déclarer faillite en laissant les dépenses de nettoyage aux contribuables.