Laurier—Sainte-Marie

Jamil Azzaoui is a Quebecker of Moroccan-French origin. He arrived in Quebec forty years ago, at the age of eighteen, alone with a guitar. Since then, he has strived to make an impressive contribution to Quebec society. Over the last twenty years, he has collaborated with more than 200 artists as a promotion agent, manager and producer. Jamil has contributed to 44 Félix Trophy Victories, including those of Richard Desjardins, Isabelle Boulay and Francis Cabrel.
 
A seasoned businessman, Jamil is the founder of Medley, Petit Medley and Gainzbar. A philanthropist, he financed the university studies of about fifty employees over nine years. He is also the co-founder of Le Show du Refuge with Dan Bigras, and the first spokesperson for Sainte-Justine au Coeur du Monde. An author-composer-performer of songs with irreverent humour, he has been nominated seven times at the Adisq Gala. Jamil is also the author of several major hits by Marie-Élaine Thibert, Éric Lapointe and others.
 
After surviving a double brain hemorrhage in 2008, Jamil moved to his current position as Director of Communications for the Quebec Food Banks Network, where he is passionately fighting the growing problem of food waste and insecurity.

Laurier—Sainte-Marie

Jamil Azzaoui est un Québécois d'origine maroco-française. Il a immigré au Québec il y a quarante ans, à l'âge de dix-huit ans, seul avec une guitare. Depuis, il s'efforce d'apporter une contribution impressionnante à la société québécoise. Au cours des vingt dernières années, il a collaboré avec plus de 200 artistes en tant qu'agent de promotion, gérant et producteur. Jamil a contribué à 44 victoires aux Trophées Félix, dont celles de Richard Desjardins, Isabelle Boulay et Francis Cabrel.
 
Homme d'affaires chevronné, Jamil est le fondateur de Medley, Petit Medley et Gainzbar. Philanthrope, il a financé les études universitaires d'une cinquantaine d'employés pendant neuf ans. Il est également cofondateur du Show du Refuge avec Dan Bigras et le premier porte-parole de Sainte-Justine au Coeur du Monde. Auteur-compositeur-interprète de chansons à l'humour irrévérencieux, il a été nominé sept fois au Gala de l'Adisq. Jamil est également l'auteur de plusieurs succès majeurs de Marie-Élaine Thibert, Éric Lapointe et autres artistes de renom.
 
Après avoir survécu à une double hémorragie cérébrale en 2008, Jamil est passé à son poste actuel de directeur des communications du Réseau des banques alimentaires du Québec, où il se bat avec passion contre le problème croissant du gaspillage alimentaire et de l'insécurité.