Tobique—Mactaquac

Rowan Miller is a resident of Upper Kent, New Brunswick, and does his best to be a citizen of the world. Born in Victoria, British Columbia, Rowan spent eleven years in Aiken, South Carolina, and a year studying in Yellow Springs, Ohio, before moving to New Brunswick in 2015 to be closer to family. 

Rowan is descended from many generations of local farmers, and moving to New Brunswick was like returning to his roots along the Saint John/Wolastoq River Valley. While growing up, Rowan took innumerable trips to this area, and developed a deep personal affinity for its forests and farms, lakes and rivers, its communities and its history. Rowan is now happy to turn that affinity into a firm commitment to draw on all traditions —Anglophone, Francophone and Indigenous— to build a bright future for New Brunswick’s people and its environment. 

With his long family history in New Brunswick, Rowan wants to see our province continue to grow and prosper, and wants to see that growth and prosperity mean vibrant and viable communities across the province, from urban centres to rural townships. That means protecting our resources, and ensuring rural regions get a fair shake for what they produce and create — from sustainable lumber to arts and cultural projects. 

As a student of history, political science and economy —and from his background living in small and varied communities across North America— Rowan knows he can bring innovative leadership to the challenges confronting the communities of Tobique—Mactaquac. Rowan wants to see investment in renewable energy, rapid transit, and the communications technology that is needed to integrate rural communities with the wider world. He also wants to ensure our farming communities can thrive through agricultural diversification, new crops and new methods — from hemp to hops to hydroponics. 

Above all else, Rowan is committed to building a strong and sustainable home that will give our grandchildren access to the best opportunities and the healthiest environment.

Tobique—Mactaquac

Rowan Miller réside à Upper Kent, au Nouveau-Brunswick et tente d’être un citoyen du monde. Né à Victoria, en Colombie-Britannique, Rowan a passé onze ans à Aiken, en Caroline du Sud, et un an à Yellow Springs, en Ohio, avant de déménager au Nouveau-Brunswick en 2015 pour se rapprocher de sa famille. 

Rowan descend de plusieurs générations d'agriculteurs locaux. En déménageant au Nouveau-Brunswick, il a pu se rapprocher de ses racines le long de la vallée de la rivière Saint-Jean/Wolastoq. Pendant son enfance, Rowan a fait d'innombrables voyages dans cette région et a développé une profonde affinité personnelle pour ses forêts et ses fermes, ses lacs et ses rivières, ses communautés et son histoire. Rowan est maintenant heureux de transformer cette affinité en un engagement ferme à puiser dans toutes les traditions - anglophones, francophones et autochtones - pour bâtir un avenir brillant pour la population du Nouveau-Brunswick et son environnement. 

Avec sa longue histoire familiale au Nouveau-Brunswick, Rowan veut que notre province continue de croître et de prospérer et il veut que la croissance et la prospérité se traduisent par des collectivités dynamiques et viables partout dans la province, des centres urbains aux cantons ruraux. Cela signifie protéger nos ressources et veiller à ce que les régions rurales obtiennent un traitement équitable pour ce qu'elles produisent et créent - du bois d'œuvre durable aux projets artistiques et culturels. 

En tant qu'étudiant en histoire, en science politique et en économie et en raison de ses antécédents de vie dans de petites collectivités variées en Amérique du Nord - Rowan sait qu'il peut apporter un leadership novateur aux défis auxquels font face les collectivités de Tobique-Mactaquac. M. Rowan veut que l'on investisse dans les énergies renouvelables, le transport en commun rapide et les technologies de communication nécessaires pour intégrer les collectivités rurales au reste du monde. Il veut aussi s'assurer que nos communautés agricoles puissent prospérer grâce à la diversification de l'agriculture, aux nouvelles cultures et aux nouvelles méthodes - du chanvre au houblon en passant par la culture hydroponique. 

Par-dessus tout, Rowan s'engage à construire une maison solide et durable qui donnera à nos petits-enfants accès aux meilleures possibilités et à un environnement plus sain.