Cumberland—Colchester

Please follow Jason's Facebook page for information on all upcoming events.

Jason Blanch has served as a Town Councillor in Amherst, Nova Scotia, since October 2016. He sits on Amherst’s Audit Committee, Planning Advisory Committee and Municipal Alcohol Planning Committee, and as a Commissioner on Amherst’s Board of Police Commissions. Jason has been an Addiction Counsellor with the Nova Scotia Health Authority for over fifteen years.

Jason has a bachelor’s degree from Mount Allison University, and a master’s degree in adult education from Saint Francis Xavier University. Through his studies, he has gained an intermediate ability to speak French and Spanish.

Jason has worked and volunteered in community development organizations focussed on social justice and the environment across Canada and internationally. From 2000 to 2003, Jason volunteered as a human rights observer with the Aboriginal Rights Coalition in Esgenoopetitj, New Brunswick. In 2001, Jason worked in West Africa with the Friends of the Earth Sierra Leone, developing a training program for former child soldiers to develop employment skills. Jason founded the Nappan Project, an organization dedicated to environmental education and climate change, in addition to volunteering with the Sierra Club of Canada’s Atlantic Canada Chapter where he sat as the inaugural Chair. Finally, he volunteered with the United Church of Canada’s Tatamagouche Centre for over five years.

A long-time Green Party volunteer and advocate, Jason ran as a candidate in the 2009 by-election, as well as the general elections of 2011 and 2015. Jason also ran with the Green Party of Nova Scotia in 2013, and has sat as the CAO of the local electoral district association

Jason has built his family an off-grid, super insulated, passive solar, photovoltaic powered house in Cumberland County. He is passionate about organic gardening, kayaking, sailing, making maple syrup, hiking, canoeing and travelling with his family. Jason lives in Amherst, Nova Scotia, with his wife Julie and their two teenage children.

Cumberland—Colchester

Jason Blanch est conseiller municipal à Amherst, en Nouvelle-Écosse, depuis octobre 2016. Il siège au comité de vérification, au comité consultatif d'urbanisme et au comité municipal de planification de la lutte contre l'alcoolisme d'Amherst. Il occupe également le poste de commissaire au sein des commissions de la Commission de police d'Amherst. Jason est conseiller en toxicomanie à la Nova Scotia Health Authority depuis plus de quinze ans.

Jason est titulaire d'un baccalauréat de l'Université Mount Allison et d'une maîtrise en éducation des adultes de l'Université Saint Francis Xavier. Au cours de ses études, il a acquis une connaissance intermédiaire du français et de l'espagnol.

Jason a travaillé et fait du bénévolat dans des organismes de développement communautaire axés sur la justice sociale et l'environnement au Canada et à l'étranger. De 2000 à 2003, Jason s'est porté volontaire comme observateur des droits de la personne auprès de la Coalition pour les droits des Autochtones à Esgenoopetitj, au Nouveau-Brunswick. En 2001, Jason a travaillé en Afrique de l'Ouest avec les Amis de la Terre Sierra Leone, développant un programme de formation pour d'anciens enfants soldats afin de développer leurs compétences professionnelles. Jason a fondé le Nappan Project, un organisme voué à l'éducation environnementale et aux changements climatiques, en plus de faire du bénévolat au sein de la section du Canada atlantique du Sierra Club du Canada où il a été le premier président. Enfin, il a fait du bénévolat au Centre Tatamagouche de l'Église Unie du Canada pendant plus de cinq ans.

Bénévole et défenseur de longue date du Parti vert, Jason s'est porté candidat à l'élection partielle de 2009, ainsi qu'aux élections générales de 2011 et 2015. Jason s'est également présenté avec le Parti vert de la Nouvelle-Écosse en 2013 et a siégé à titre de directeur général de son association de circonscription électorale locale.

Jason a construit une maison hors réseau, super isolée, solaire passive et photovoltaïque, dans le comté de Cumberland. Il se passionne pour le jardinage biologique, le kayak, la voile, la fabrication du sirop d'érable, la randonnée pédestre, le canotage et les voyages avec sa famille. Jason vit à Amherst, en Nouvelle-Écosse, avec sa femme Julie et leurs deux enfants.