Long Range Mountains

Lucas Knill comes from a rural background, and is currently studying at Memorial University Grenfell Campus in Corner Brook, where he is completing his Master's of Science in Boreal Ecosystems and Agriculture. He loves to explore the natural, historic, and cultural beauty of the Long Range Mountains riding, from the breathtaking beauty of Gros Morne to the scenic trails of Channel-Port aux Basques to the upbeat music festivals of St. Anthony.

Lucas is a strong believer in the value of being an active, contributing participant within the community, and he demonstrates this by volunteering with local search and rescue, as well as sitting on different committees within the university. Values of community resilience, promoting rural economic development, and fostering community collaboration are of key importance for Lucas. He believes that deliberative democracy is the best tool to connect the social, environmental, and economic needs of communities to real applied political action.

For environmental issues, and specifically climate change, Lucas believes that the time for society to act is now. Sustainability is a foundational pillar of Lucas' perspective on how governmental agencies, resource development and management should work. He is also dedicated to deeply understanding the needs of rural communities and the needs of Indigenous peoples and their communities.

Lucas believes the Long Range Mountains riding is well suited for the Green Party and that he can create meaningful action towards the needs of communities in the riding, while incorporating his green values and unique perspective as a young person, community volunteer, and previous labourer and truck driver.

Long Range Mountains

Lucas Knill vient d'un milieu rural et étudie actuellement au campus Grenfell de l'Université Memorial à Corner Brook, où il termine sa maîtrise en écosystèmes boréaux et en agriculture. Il adore explorer la beauté naturelle, historique et culturelle des monts Long Range, de la beauté époustouflante de Gros-Morne aux sentiers pittoresques de Channel-Port aux Basques en passant par les festivals de musique animés de St. Anthony.

Lucas croit fermement en la valeur d'être un participant actif et utile au sein de la communauté, et il le démontre en faisant du bénévolat dans le domaine de la recherche et du sauvetage local et en siégeant sur différents comités de l'université. Les valeurs de résilience communautaire, de promotion du développement économique rural et de collaboration communautaire sont d'une importance capitale pour Lucas. Il croit que la démocratie délibérative est le meilleur outil pour relier les besoins sociaux, environnementaux et économiques des collectivités à une action politique appliquée réelle.

En ce qui concerne les questions environnementales, et plus particulièrement le changement climatique, Lucas estime que le moment est venu pour la société d'agir. La durabilité est un pilier fondamental de la perspective de Lucas sur la façon dont les agences gouvernementales, le développement et la gestion des ressources devraient fonctionner. Il se consacre également à comprendre en profondeur les besoins des communautés rurales et les besoins des peuples autochtones et de leurs communautés.

Lucas croit que la circonscription de Long Range Mountains convient bien au Parti vert et qu'il peut appliquer des mesures significatives pour répondre aux besoins des collectivités de la circonscription, tout en intégrant ses valeurs écologiques et sa perspective unique en tant que jeune, bénévole communautaire et ancien travailleur et conducteur de camion.