Victoria

Born and raised in British Columbia, Racelle Kooy grew up with a deep love for salmon, the Pacific Ocean and the mighty cedar forests. Her Dutch immigrant father encouraged her curiosity and critical thinking, and her Secwepemc / St’atl’imc mother helped ground her deeply in a sense of place and connection to people. Both parents demonstrated the richness of building and supporting community through service. Racelle is a member of Samahquam First Nation with strong family ties to Stswecem’c Xgat’tem.

Racelle strives for a balance of deep thought, proactive work that honours our Ancestors, and belly laughs. She has dedicated her professional talents to strengthening opportunities for Indigenous People and communities. She is an external relations strategist with twenty years of expertise in communications and government and media relations. She is a trusted advisor with strong analytical skills, adept at counselling leadership in advancing organizations. As a community engagement specialist, she is attuned to both the opportunities and the challenges that Indigenous people of Canada face.

Racelle has respectfully represented First Nations People and cultures to the world in English, French and Spanish. She has participated at the regional, national and global level with platforms including the Cannes International Film Festival and the inaugural live broadcast launch of Aboriginal Peoples Television Network. She enjoys working directly with communities as well as collaborating with national organizations such as the Assembly of First Nations and the Indspire Foundation.

Racelle stays grounded through her ancestral First Nation spiritual practices and as pow wow dancer. She finds great joy in instigating laughter and “aha moments” during conversations with others.

Victoria

Née et élevée en Colombie-Britannique, Racelle Kooy grandi avec un amour profond pour le saumon, l'océan Pacifique et les puissantes forêts de cèdres. Son père, un immigrant néerlandais, encourage sa curiosité et sa pensée critique, et sa mère Secwepemc / St'atl'imc l'aide à s'enraciner profondément dans un sentiment d'appartenance et de connexion aux gens. Ses deux parents lui ont démontré la richesse de bâtir et de soutenir la communauté par le service. Racelle est membre de la Première nation Samahquam et a des liens familiaux étroits avec la nation Stswecem'c Xgat'tem.

Racelle s'efforce de trouver un équilibre entre une réflexion profonde et un travail proactif qui honore nos ancêtre. Elle consacre ses talents professionnels au renforcement des possibilités qui s'offrent aux peuples et aux communautés autochtones. Elle est stratège en relations extérieures et possède vingt ans d'expertise en communications et en relations gouvernementales et avec les médias. Elle est une conseillère de confiance dotée d'une solide capacité d'analyse et d'un sens aigu du leadership dans l'avancement des organisations. En tant que spécialiste de l'engagement communautaire, elle est à l'affût des possibilités et des défis auxquels font face les peuples autochtones du Canada.

Racelle représente avec brio les peuples et les cultures des Premières Nations dans le monde entier en anglais, en français et en espagnol. Elle participe aux niveaux régional, national et mondial à des plateformes telles que le Festival international du film de Cannes et le lancement inaugural de la première diffusion en direct du Réseau de télévision des peuples autochtones. Elle aime travailler directement avec les communautés et collaborer avec des organismes nationaux comme l'Assemblée des Premières Nations et la Fondation Indspire.

Racelle reste enracinée dans ses pratiques spirituelles ancestrales des Premières nations et comme danseuse de pow-wow. Elle trouve une grande joie à provoquer des moments de rires dans les conversations avec les autres.