North Island—Powell River

Mark de Bruijn and his family moved to Calgary from Holland when he was just three-years-old, and he spent the next thirty years in Alberta. Then, at the age of thirty-four, he moved to Cortes Island and has called beautiful British Columbia home ever since. He has now been in the North Island—Powell River area for just over twenty years, most of that time living in the Bates Beach area of the Comox Valley.

Mark graduated from the University of Calgary in 1973, with a First Class Honours B.Sc. in Zoology. Years later, he completed the Post Degree Professional Program at University of Victoria to teach high school. His professional life has included working as a fish biologist, college teacher, general contractor, sporting goods buyer, healing program coordinator, school principal and high school science teacher. These experiences —along with his volunteer roles on several non-profit boards— have allowed him to develop diplomacy skills in the areas of finance, human resources and community building.

Mark has had a lifelong passion for green politics, and has been a long-time supporter of politically and environmentally focused groups like the Georgia Strait Alliance, Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives and West Coast Environmental Law. He became active with the Green Party of Canada in 2014, and is deeply committed to our six guiding principles: ecological wisdom, social justice, participatory democracy, non-violence, sustainability, and respect for diversity.

Mark knows this riding is deeply affected by environmental issues —from logging to fish farms to rising sea levels—  and that North Island—Powell River is in a position to feel some of the worst consequences of climate change. He believes we have to work to significantly reduce carbon emissions and prioritize sustainability, all while fighting for social issues like affordable housing, food security and poverty alleviation.

Mark shares his passion for the wellbeing of our planet with his partner Carol. As well as supporting local political initiatives they enjoy outdoor activities like hiking, snowshoeing, skiing and kayaking, and practice the spiritual wisdoms of meditation.

Mark looks forward to working with all the residents of North Island—Powell River to build a more resilient, equitable and sustainable Canada.

North Island—Powell River

Mark de Bruijn et sa famille ont quitté la Hollande pour Calgary alors qu'il n'avait que trois ans, et il a passé les trente années suivantes en Alberta. Puis, à l'âge de trente-quatre ans, il a déménagé à Cortes Island et s'y est installé depuis. Il vit maintenant dans la région de North Island-Powell River depuis un peu plus de vingt ans, la plupart du temps dans la région de Bates Beach, dans la vallée de Comox.

Mark a obtenu un baccalauréat spécialisé en zoologie de l'Université de Calgary en 1973. Des années plus tard, il a terminé un programme professionnel de troisième cycle à l'Université de Victoria pour enseigner à l'école secondaire. Dans sa vie professionnelle, il a travaillé et étudié sur les poissons en tant que biologiste, puis il a enseigné au collège, travaillé comme entrepreneur général, acheteur d'articles de sport, coordonnateur de programmes en guérison, directeur d'école et professeur de sciences au secondaire. Ces expériences - auxquelles s'ajoutent ses rôles bénévoles au sein de plusieurs conseils d'administration d'organismes sans but lucratif - lui ont permis d'acquérir des compétences en diplomatie dans les domaines des finances, des ressources humaines et du développement communautaire.

Passionné de politique verte depuis toujours, Mark appuie depuis longtemps des groupes à vocation politique et environnementale comme la Georgia Strait Alliance, le Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives et West Coast Environmental Law. Il est devenu actif au sein du Parti Vert du Canada en 2014 et est profondément engagé envers nos six principes directeurs : sagesse écologique, justice sociale, démocratie participative, non-violence, durabilité et respect de la diversité.

Mark sait que cette circonscription est profondément touchée par les questions environnementales - de l'exploitation forestière à la pisciculture en passant par l'élévation du niveau de la mer - et que North Island-Powell River est en mesure de subir certaines des pires conséquences du changement climatique. Il croit que nous devons travailler à réduire considérablement les émissions de carbone et donner la priorité à la durabilité, tout en luttant pour des questions sociales comme le logement abordable, la sécurité alimentaire et la réduction de la pauvreté.

Mark partage sa passion pour le bien-être de notre planète avec sa partenaire Carol. En plus de soutenir les initiatives politiques locales, ils aiment les activités de plein air comme la randonnée pédestre, la raquette, le ski et le kayak, et pratiquent les sagesses spirituelles de la méditation.

Mark a hâte de travailler avec tous les résidents de North Island-Powell River pour bâtir un Canada plus résilient, équitable et durable