Esquimalt—Saanich—Sooke

As a father to four daughters, husband of 24 years, lawyer for over 28 years, political volunteer for 35 years, and enthusiastic hockey player for 50 years, David Merner understands the importance of commitment, hard work, creativity and fun.

David earned degrees from Harvard College, the University of Alberta, Oxford University and the University of Toronto, and has been called to the bar in both British Columbia and Ontario. He advised Ministers at the Department of Justice and Privy Council Office in Ottawa for 15 years before moving back to B.C. to help reform the province’s justice system into the most innovative in the world.

David is an avid volunteer both close to home and abroad. He has been lucky enough to provide support to organizations like The Land Conservancy of B.C. and Habitat Acquisition Trust, and has served on election observation missions in Haiti and Ukraine. He also volunteered for the Liberal Party of Canada for over 30 years and ran for the Liberals in Esquimalt—Saanich—Sooke in 2015.

In 2018, David decided he could not support a party that serially breaks its promises. He joined the Green Party because he believes our democracy should work for all voters, not just party elites. That taxpayers should no longer spend $3.5 billion annually on fossil fuel subsidies. That the purchase and twinning of the Kinder Morgan pipeline is a huge mistake for taxpayers and the environment. That it’s time for real change in Canadian politics and Canada’s economy.

Most importantly, effective leadership is essential to climate action. To lead effectively, the Green Party of Canada must win seats. David has campaigned on winning Green campaigns in British Columbia with Adam Olsen, in Ontario with Mike Schreiner, and in New Brunswick with Megan Mitton. Through hard work, inspiration and fun, he is dedicated to winning a Green Party seat in Esquimalt—Saanich—Sooke on October 21, 2019.

Esquimalt—Saanich—Sooke

Père de quatre filles, mari depuis 24 ans, avocat depuis plus de 28 ans, bénévole politique depuis 35 ans et joueur de hockey enthousiaste depuis 50 ans, David Merner comprend l'importance de l'engagement, du travail, de la créativité et du plaisir.

David a obtenu des diplômes de l’Université Harvard, de l'Université de l'Alberta, de l'Université d'Oxford et de l'Université de Toronto et a été admis au barreau en Colombie-Britannique et en Ontario. Il a conseillé les ministres du ministère de la Justice et du Bureau du Conseil privé à Ottawa pendant 15 ans avant de retourner en Colombie-Britannique pour contribuer à réformer le système de justice de la province et en faire le système le plus novateur au monde.

David est un bénévole passionné, tant au pays qu'à l'étranger. Il a eu la chance de soutenir des organismes comme The Land Conservancy of B.C. et Habitat Acquisition Trust, et a participé à des missions d'observation électorale en Haïti et en Ukraine. Il a également été bénévole pour le Parti libéral du Canada pendant plus de 30 ans et a été candidat pour les Libéraux dans Esquimalt-Saanich-Sooke en 2015.

En 2018, David a décidé qu'il ne pouvait pas appuyer un parti qui rompt ses promesses les unes après les autres. Il s'est joint au Parti vert parce qu'il croit que notre démocratie devrait fonctionner pour tous les électeurs, pas seulement pour une minorité d’entre eux. Il estime également que que les contribuables ne devraient plus dépenser 3,5 milliards de dollars par année en subventions pour les combustibles fossiles, que l'achat et le jumelage du pipeline Kinder Morgan constituent une énorme erreur pour les contribuables et l'environnement et qu'il est temps d'apporter des changements réels à la politique et à l'économie canadiennes.

Plus important encore, un leadership efficace est essentiel à l'action climatique. Pour diriger efficacement, le Parti vert du Canada doit remporter des sièges. David a fait campagne pour gagner des causes écologiques en Colombie-Britannique avec Adam Olsen, en Ontario avec Mike Schreiner et au Nouveau-Brunswick avec Megan Mitton. Grâce à son travail acharné, à son inspiration et à son plaisir, il est déterminé à remporter un siège pour le Parti vert à Esquimalt-Saanich-Sooke le 21 octobre 2019.