New Westminster—Burnaby

Suzanne de Montigny was born in Vancouver, and raised in the Fraser Valley. An environmentalist, author, musician and former teacher of 20 years in the Vancouver School Board, she is a very active Green Party member who is impassioned about the future of Canada and is dedicated to meeting the The Paris Agreement on greenhouse gas emissions.

Suzanne believes each and every Canadian voice needs to be heard regardless of race, religion, gender, sexual orientation or culture. She plans to work fervently to replace fossil fuels with more cost-effective and sustainable wind turbines, thermal energy and solar farms, and to further the development of infrastructure supporting the increased popularity and effectiveness of electric vehicles. She is dedicated to the development of new industry, particularly in the tech sector and agriculture, to replace jobs associated with the burning of fossil fuels. 

Suzanne holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of Victoria, a master’s degree from the University of California San Diego, and a teaching certificate from Simon Fraser University. She has also attended l’Université Laval and l’Université de Montrèal and is fluently bilingual. 

The president of the Children’s Writers and Illustrators of BC Society, Suzanne promotes children’s literature in the classroom. She’s an avid skier, snowboarder and cyclist, and attends Our Lady of Fatima Church in Maillardville where she was pianist for several years. She is married to her long-time partner, John Yu, a successful engineer who immigrated from Hong Kong, and together they are the proud parents of two teenage boys.

New Westminster—Burnaby

Suzanne de Montigny est née à Vancouver et a grandi dans la vallée du Fraser. Environnementaliste, auteure, musicienne et ancienne enseignante depuis 20 ans à la Commission scolaire de Vancouver, elle est une membre très active du Parti vert, passionnée par l'avenir du Canada et déterminée à respecter l'Accord de Paris sur les gaz à effet de serre.

Suzanne croit que chaque voix canadienne doit être entendue sans distinction d’origine, de religion, de sexe, d'orientation sexuelle ou de culture. Elle prévoit travailler avec ferveur pour remplacer les combustibles fossiles par des éoliennes, de l'énergie thermique et des parcs solaires plus rentables et plus durables et pour favoriser le développement d'infrastructures favorisant la popularité et l'efficacité des véhicules électriques. Elle se consacre au développement de nouvelles industries, particulièrement dans le secteur de la technologie et de l'agriculture, afin de remplacer les emplois associés à la combustion des combustibles fossiles. 

Suzanne détient un baccalauréat de l'Université de Victoria, une maîtrise de l'Université de Californie à San Diego et un certificat d'enseignement de l'Université Simon Fraser. Elle a également fréquenté l'Université Laval et l'Université de Montréal et est parfaitement bilingue. 

Présidente de la Children's Writers and Illustrators of BC Society, Suzanne fait la promotion de la littérature pour enfants en classe. Passionnée de ski, de snowboard et de cyclisme, elle fréquente l'église Notre-Dame de Fatima à Maillardville où elle a été pianiste pendant plusieurs années. Elle est mariée à son partenaire de longue date, John Yu, un ingénieur prospère qui a immigré de Hong Kong, et ensemble, ils sont les fiers parents de deux adolescents.