Mission—Matsqui—Fraser Canyon

John Kidder is an economist, a policy analyst and governance practitioner, a small farmer, an inventor and an entrepreneur. He was a founder in 1983 of the Green Party of BC, the first Green party in North America. He holds the Finance portfolio in the Green Party of Canada’s shadow cabinet. He has three children and four grandchildren. He was a widower until April 2019 when he joyfully married Elizabeth May, leader of the Green Party. He lives beside the Bonaparte River just north of Ashcroft, BC.


John Kidder was born in 1947 in Yellowknife, Northwest Territories, and spent his childhood in Vancouver, Montréal, Beloeil, Sept-Îles, and Labrador. His family moved to Vancouver in 1963 where he completed high school before attending Collège Militaire Royale and UBC to study science, agriculture and economics. In the ‘00s, he attended Simon Fraser University’s Graduate Liberal Studies program, and the Institute of Corporate Directors/Rotman School of Business Directors Education Program.
 
In his early career, John worked many jobs – he was a working cowboy, a mine worker, pipeline labourer, fish buyer and warehouse foreman.  He became an agricultural economist, policy analyst, range management specialist and environmental program manager. From the 1980s until 2009, he developed technology in software, fibre optics, medical devices and online governance. He holds six patents.  He founded two successful companies, APRIO Inc., the leading Canadian supplier of software for boards of directors for companies, credit unions and non-profits, and Photon Control Inc., a supplier of photonic sensing equipment.
 
In addition to his working career, John has served on a number of corporate, political and cultural non-profit boards. Among them, he served as a Director of the Canadian Advanced Technology Association, Vice-Chair of the Canadian Photonics Consortium, Chair and CEO of the Vancouver Folk Music Festival Society, and Chair of the Winding Rivers Arts & Performance Society in Ashcroft.  
 
John has been engaged in politics since the 1970s.  He has a legacy in Canada’s green movement - in 1982, he was a founder and Secretary of the Green Party of British Columbia, the first Green Party in North America, and worked on Adriane Carr's first campaign.  He worked for years with the Liberal Party of Canada — including as BC Policy Chair and President of the Vancouver Quadra EDA, and as a candidate in Okanagan-Coquihalla in 2011.  He was the western Chair of the “Committee For The Constitution”, a non-partisan group that organized nationally against the Meech Lake Accord.   He left the Liberal Party when Justin Trudeau criticized Stephen Harper for not “doing enough to promote the Keystone XL pipeline”.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 
John married Elizabeth May, Leader of the Green Party of Canada, on Earth day 2019. He was previously married for 32 years to Siri Heiberg from Norway until she died in 2009. In the early 1970s he was married to Marion Kidder. He has three children and four grandchildren.  He lives on a small farm in Ashcroft in the dry interior of BC, and keeps an apartment in the family home in Vancouver, which is now occupied by his daughter and two grandchildren.

Mission—Matsqui—Fraser Canyon

John Kidder est économiste, analyste des politiques et praticien de la gouvernance, petit agriculteur, inventeur et entrepreneur. Il a été l'un des fondateurs en 1983 du Parti vert de la Colombie-Britannique, le premier parti vert en Amérique du Nord. Il détient le portefeuille des finances au sein du cabinet fantôme du Parti vert du Canada. Il a trois enfants et quatre petits-enfants. Il est resté veuf jusqu'en avril 2019, date à laquelle il a épousé avec joie Elizabeth May, chef du Parti vert. Il vit au bord de la rivière Bonaparte, juste au nord d'Ashcroft, en Colombie-Britannique.

John Kidder est né en 1947 à Yellowknife (Territoires du Nord-Ouest) et a passé son enfance à Vancouver, Montréal, Beloeil, Sept-Îles et Labrador. Sa famille déménage à Vancouver en 1963, où il termine ses études secondaires avant de fréquenter le Collège militaire royal et l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique pour étudier les sciences, l'agriculture et l'économie. Dans les années 2000, il suit le programme d'études libérales supérieures de l'Université Simon Fraser et le programme de formation en administration de l'Institut des administrateurs de sociétés et de la Rotman School of Business.
 
Au début de sa carrière, John occupe de nombreux emplois - il travaille comme cow-boy, ouvrier de mine, ouvrier de pipeline, acheteur de poisson et contremaître d'entrepôt.  Il devient économiste agricole, analyste des politiques, spécialiste de la gestion des champs de tir et gestionnaire de programmes environnementaux. Entre les années 1980 et 2009, il développe des technologies dans les domaines des logiciels, de la fibre optique, des dispositifs médicaux et de la gouvernance en ligne. Il détient six brevets.  Il a fondé deux entreprises prospères, APRIO Inc, le principal fournisseur canadien de logiciels pour les conseils d'administration d'entreprises, de caisses populaires et d'organismes sans but lucratif, et Photon Control Inc, un fournisseur d'équipement de détection photonique.
 
En plus de sa carrière professionnelle, John siège à de nombreux conseils d'administration d'entreprises, politiques et culturels sans but lucratif. Il a notamment été administrateur de l'Association canadienne de technologie de pointe, vice-président du Consortium canadien de photonique, président et chef de la direction de la Vancouver Folk Music Festival Society et président de la Winding Rivers Arts & Performance Society à Ashcroft.  
 
John est engagé en politique depuis les années 1970.  En 1982, il contribue à la fondation du Parti vert de la Colombie-Britannique, le premier Parti vert en Amérique du Nord, et il travaille sur la première campagne d'Adriane Carr.  Il travaille pendant des années avec le Parti libéral du Canada, notamment à titre de président du Comité des politiques de la Colombie-Britannique et de président de l'ADC Vancouver Quadra, et comme candidat dans Okanagan-Coquihalla en 2011.  Il fut le président du « Comité pour la Constitution », un groupe non partisan qui s'est organisé à l'échelle nationale contre l'Accord du lac Meech. Il abandonne le Parti libéral lorsque Justin Trudeau reproche à Stephen Harper de ne pas « en faire assez pour promouvoir le pipeline Keystone XL ».                                                                                                                                                                             
John épousé Elizabeth May, chef du Parti vert du Canada, lors du jour de la Terre 2019. Il a été marié pendant 32 ans avec la Norvégienne Siri Heiberg jusqu'à sa mort en 2009. Au début des années 1970, il était marié à Marion Kidder.  Il a trois enfants et quatre petits-enfants.  Il vit dans une petite ferme à Ashcroft, en Colombie-Britannique, et possède un appartement dans la maison familiale à Vancouver maintenant occupée par sa fille et ses deux petits-enfants.