Langley—Aldergrove

As a librarian working with children and young adults, Kaija Farstad is devoted to teaching, learning, and living the widest possible variety of experiences. She commends the youth working to promote climate awareness and is committed to the idea that purposeful living, ecological sustainability and social equality are key to our future happiness and productivity. 

Within British Columbia, Kaija has lived in Victoria, Prince George, Delta, and Langley, as well as in Carberry, Manitoba, and Osaka, Japan. She is fluent in French and English, and has studied German, Russian, Spanish and Arabic. She has degrees in archaeology and education, as well as her Library Certificate. Under the pen name Kaija Leona, she has published the young adult novel Trust Me.

Kaija agrees with Douglas Adams' statement: "It is a well-known fact that those people who most want to rule people are, ipso facto, least suited to do it." She does not, on any account, wish to rule people. To the contrary, she wants to create space for the voices and experiences of everyone. Our political system —like many colonial practices and systems that are the result of thousands of years of documented warfare— does not act in the interests of its own citizens, but rather in spite of them. Kaija wants to work to change it for the better.

Since action makes you feel more hopeful, you can often find Kaija cleaning up parks around Langley, picking up litter from the streets, helping to muck out her friend's sheep and chicken barns and visiting libraries and book shops to read for fun. 

Like most Canadians, it is only in the last few years that Kaija has come to realise the Green Party is not a powerless fringe party, but the only party committed enough to defy the multinational corporations that put individual profits before our ability to sustain human life on earth. She joined the green movement because she believes they are the only national party with comprehensive enough plans to reverse the climate crisis. 

With two children growing up in Langley, Kaija is devoted to creating a healthy future for everyone. In her spare time, she likes to read for the two book selection committees she is on and work on her own novels.

Langley—Aldergrove

En tant que bibliothécaire travaillant avec des enfants et des jeunes adultes, Kaija Farstad se consacre à l'enseignement, à l'apprentissage et à la vie dans la plus grande variété possible d'expériences. Elle félicite les jeunes qui travaillent à promouvoir la sensibilisation au climat et s'engage à l'idée qu'un mode de vie réfléchi, la durabilité écologique et l'égalité sociale sont essentiels pour notre bonheur et notre productivité futurs. 

En Colombie-Britannique, Kaija a vécu à Victoria, Prince George, Delta et Langley ainsi qu'à Carberry au Manitoba et à Osaka au Japon. Elle parle couramment le français et l'anglais et a étudié l'allemand, le russe, l'espagnol et l'arabe. Elle détient des diplômes en archéologie et en éducation ainsi qu'un certificat en bibliothéconomie. Sous le nom de plume Kaija Leona, elle a publié le roman pour jeunes adultes Trust Me.

Kaija est d'accord avec la déclaration de Douglas Adams : « C'est un fait bien connu que ceux qui veulent le plus gouverner sont, les moins aptes à le faire. » Elle ne veut en aucun cas gouverner les gens. Au contraire, elle veut créer un espace pour les voix et les expériences de chacun. Notre système politique - comme beaucoup de pratiques et de systèmes coloniaux qui sont le résultat de milliers d'années de guerre documentée - n'agit pas dans l'intérêt de ses propres citoyens, mais plutôt malgré eux. Kaija veut travailler pour l'améliorer.

Vous pouvez souvent trouver Kaija qui entretient les parcs autour de Langley, ramasse les déchets dans les rues, aide à nettoyer les bergeries et les poulaillers de son amie et visite les bibliothèques et les librairies pour lire pour le plaisir. 

Comme pour la majorité de la population, ce n'est qu'au cours des dernières années que Kaija s'est rendue compte que le Parti vert n'est pas un parti marginal impuissant, mais le seul parti suffisamment engagé pour défier les multinationales qui font passer les profits individuels avant notre capacité à soutenir la vie humaine sur terre. Elle s'est jointe au mouvement vert parce qu'elle croit qu'il s'agit du seul parti national qui propose des plans assez complets pour contrer la crise climatique. 

Avec deux enfants qui grandissent à Langley, Kaija se consacre à créer un avenir sain pour tous. Dans ses temps libres, elle aime lire pour les deux comités de sélection de livres dont elle fait partie et travailler sur ses propres romans.