Cowichan—Malahat—Langford

Lydia graduated from University of Victoria’s Law School (1997). Her undergraduate work at UVic was in the Faculty of Human and Social Development in the School of Public Administration: Certificate Administration of Aboriginal Governments; Diploma in Public Sector Management. She also has dispute resolution and mediation training from the BC Justice Institute. 

Lydia served as elected Chief of Cowichan Tribes for eight years (1997-2001 and 2007-11). She served as an elected member of the BC First Nations Summit Political Executive (2002-04) and also served at the BCAFN (2010/12) on the Board of Directors and as the BC Region elected representative on the AFN National Women’s Council. In January 2012 Lydia was appointed by BC FN’s to the BC First Nations Health Authority Board of Directors and then Chair March of 2012-2018. Lydia was appointed to the Royal Roads Board of Governors Jan 2018-Jan 2021. 

Lydia served a number of appointments including:  
Federal appointments to the Board of Directors for the International Centre for Human Rights and Democratic Development (6yrs);  
Inaugural Chair for BC Capacity Initiative Council (5yrs);  
Provincial appointment to the BC Land Title and Survey Authority Board of Directors (3yrs);  
Appointed by BC First Nations Summit to serve on the BC First Nations Health Council as chair;  
Appointed to the Tele’ethw Aboriginal Capital Corporation as Board member (5yrs). 

Lydia has worked and advocated locally, nationally and internationally at the United Nations Permanent Forum on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples and at the Organization of American States Inter-American Commission on Human Rights. Lydia has in depth knowledge and experience strategically identifying and addressing social service and child and family service issues and solutions. Lydia is a citizen of the Cowichan Nation, which gives her a deep connection and understanding of the importance of indigenous nationhood. 

Over Lydia’s career she has lead negotiations and been part of negotiating teams. Lydia has successfully leveraged partnerships and resources to meet strategic goals. Her methodology includes academic theory combined with First Nation knowledge and teachings. Lydia is a creative thinker and has a strong commitment to Indigenous rights.

Cowichan—Malahat—Langford

Lydia est diplômée de la faculté de droit de l'Université de Victoria (1997). Elle a fait ses études de premier cycle à l'Université de Victoria à la Faculté du développement humain et social de l'École d'administration publique. Elle y a obtenu un certificat en administration des gouvernements autochtones ainsi qu’un diplôme en gestion du secteur public. Elle a également suivi une formation en règlement des différends et en médiation du BC Justice Institute. 

Lydia a occupé le poste de chef des tribus Cowichan pendant huit ans (1997-2001 et 2007-11). Elle a été membre élue de l'exécutif politique du Sommet des Premières Nations de la Colombie-Britannique (2002-2004) et a également siégé au conseil d'administration de la BCAFN (2010/12) et comme représentante élue de la région de la Colombie-Britannique au Conseil national des femmes de l'APN. En janvier 2012, Lydia a été nommée par les PN de la C.-B. au conseil d'administration de la BC First Nations Health Authority, puis présidente de mars 2012-2018. Elle fut nommée au Conseil des gouverneurs de Royal Roads de janvier 2018 à janvier 2021. 

Lydia a occupé plusieurs postes importants, y compris :  
Nominations fédérales au conseil d'administration du Centre international des droits de la personne et du développement démocratique (6 ans) ;  
Présidente inaugurale du BC Capacity Initiative Council (5 ans) ;  
Nomination provinciale au conseil d'administration de la BC Land Title and Survey Authority (3 ans) ;  
Nommée par le BC First Nations Summit pour siéger au BC First Nations Health Council à titre de président ;  
Nommée au conseil d'administration de la Tele'ethw Aboriginal Capital Corporation (5 ans). 

Lydia a travaillé et plaidé aux niveaux local, national et international auprès de l'Instance permanente des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones et de la Commission interaméricaine des droits de l'homme de l'Organisation des États américains. Lydia possède des connaissances et une expérience approfondies dans l'identification et le traitement stratégique des questions et des solutions liées aux services sociaux et aux services à l'enfance et à la famille. Elle est citoyenne de la nation Cowichan, ce qui lui donne une compréhension profonde de l'importance de la nation autochtone. 

Au cours de sa carrière, Lydia a dirigé des négociations et fait partie d'équipes de négociation. Elle a su tirer parti de partenariats et de ressources pour atteindre ses objectifs stratégiques. Sa méthodologie inclut la théorie académique combinée avec les connaissances et les enseignements des Premières Nations. Lydia est une penseuse créative et s'est fortement engagée en faveur des droits des Autochtones.