Edmonton Griesbach

Safi Khan grew up in Calgary municipal housing in the mid-90s, though he denies having ever supported the Calgary Flames. Him and his family have called Edmonton home since the early 2000s, having lived in both the inner-city and Strathcona neighbourhoods. Safi holds an honors bachelor degree in Global Development.

While he is a lifelong Green Party voter, the urgency of the current climate reality hit Safi on a personal level when he found himself researching different grades of respirator filters because of forest fire smoke. Safi believes that Albertans should see climate change and severe weather events as key issues in the 2019 federal election cycle because seven of the ten costliest natural disasters in Canadian history have taken place in our province. Not only does climate action make sense for the long-term success and safety of our kids, it makes fiscal sense for our province now.

Beyond smart climate policies, Safi is also a proponent for electoral reform and youth voter enfranchisement. Safi has experience as a community organizer, and in 2016 and 2017, coinciding with Canada’s 150th anniversary celebrations, Safi organized two conferences in rural Alberta that highlighted the voices of Aboriginal Canadians during the celebrations. These conferences created a space for residential school survivors and water protectors to share their stories with Albertan farmers and oil workers. Safi founded Edmontonians for Change in 2018, and is currently continuing the work of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission in Edmonton.

Edmonton Griesbach

Safi Khan a grandi dans un logement municipal de Calgary au milieu des années 1990, bien qu'il nie avoir jamais appuyé les Flames de Calgary. Lui et sa famille habitent Edmonton depuis le début des années 2000. Ils ont vécu au centre-ville et dans le quartier Strathcona. Safi est titulaire d'un baccalauréat spécialisé en développement mondial.

Bien qu'il ait toujours voté pour le Parti vert, l'urgence de la réalité climatique actuelle l’a frappé sur un plan personnel lorsqu'il a dû faire des recherches sur différents types de filtres respiratoires à cause de la fumée des feux de forêt. M. Safi croit que les Albertains et les Albertaines devraient considérer les changements climatiques et les phénomènes météorologiques violents comme des enjeux clés du cycle électoral fédéral de 2019 car sept des dix catastrophes naturelles les plus coûteuses de l'histoire du Canada ont eu lieu dans notre province. Non seulement les mesures climatiques sont sensées pour assurer la réussite et la sécurité à long terme de nos enfants, mais elles le sont aussi sur le plan financier pour notre province dès maintenant.

Au-delà des politiques climatiques intelligentes, Safi est aussi un partisan de la réforme électorale et de l'émancipation des jeunes électeurs. Safi a de l'expérience en tant qu'organisateur communautaire et, en 2016 et 2017, à l'occasion des célébrations du 150e anniversaire du Canada, Safi a organisé deux conférences dans les régions rurales de l'Alberta qui ont fait entendre la voix des Canadiens et des Canadiennes autochtones lors de ces célébrations. Ces conférences ont permis aux survivants des pensionnats indiens et aux protecteurs de l'eau de partager leur histoire avec les agriculteurs et les travailleurs pétroliers de l'Alberta. Safi a fondé Edmontonians for Change en 2018 et poursuit actuellement le travail de la Commission de vérité et de réconciliation à Edmonton.