Calgary Centre

Born in Gatineau, Quebec, Thana spent his childhood in Ottawa, Ontario, where he grew up speaking fluently in French, English and Thai. He attended the University of Guelph, where he was actively involved in student politics and graduated with a Bachelor of Engineering degree focused on environmental engineering.

Thana has worked as an environmental scientist in Calgary for almost seven years, and currently specializes in greenhouse gas emissions and air quality. During this time he has gained experience working at various industrial facilities including: the oil sands, pulp mills, coal mines and wastewater treatment plants. This experience has allowed him to gain empathy for industry workers while also forcing him to learn how to communicate more effectively with a diverse group. Furthermore, Thana has become very familiar with navigating regulatory documents, especially as they pertain to environmental compliance, and he is often working with a broad range of stakeholders and regulators which helps inform him of current issues and those that may arise in the future.

Outside of work, Thana is actively involved in several climate change networks around Calgary. He was the founder of his community association’s sustainability committee, served as an ambassador for the Canadian Geothermal Energy Association (CanGEA), and is a graduate of the Next Up Climate Leadership Program. He also frequently volunteers at the Calgary Drop-In Centre.

Thana ran as the Green Party of Canada candidate in the 2015 federal election in Calgary Centre. He is also currently an elected member of the Federal Council for the Green Party of Canada as the Alberta Representative.

Thana senses a strong urgency to act on climate change. With tenacious effort, he believes Alberta possesses the necessary resources and labour skills to build a prosperous economy that is also sustainable for generations to come. He believes that it is his duty to give voice to those who want to see courageous political action.

As an avid mountaineer and photographer, Thana is committed to improving our relationship with nature.

Calgary-Centre

Né à Gatineau, au Québec, Thana passe son enfance à Ottawa, en Ontario, où il grandit en parlant couramment français, anglais et thaï. Il étudié à l'Université de Guelph, où il participe activement à la politique étudiante et obtient un baccalauréat en génie environnemental.

Ensuite, Thana travaille comme spécialiste de l'environnement à Calgary pendant près de sept ans et se spécialise actuellement dans les émissions de gaz à effet de serre et la qualité de l'air. Au cours de cette période, il acquiert de l'expérience en travaillant dans diverses installations industrielles, notamment dans les sables bitumineux, les usines de pâtes et papiers, les mines de charbon et les usines de traitement des eaux usées. Cette expérience lui permet d'acquérir de l'empathie pour les travailleurs de l'industrie tout en l'obligeant à apprendre à communiquer plus efficacement avec un groupe diversifié. De plus, M. Thana est très familier avec la navigation dans les documents d'application de la réglementation, particulièrement en ce qui a trait à la conformité environnementale. Il travaille souvent avec un large éventail d'intervenants et d'organismes de réglementation, ce qui l'aide à s'informer des questions actuelles et de celles qui pourraient survenir dans l'avenir.

En dehors de son travail, Thana est activement impliqué dans plusieurs réseaux sur le changement climatique autour de Calgary. Il a fondé le comité de durabilité de son association communautaire, a été ambassadeur de l'Association canadienne de géothermie (CanGEA) et est diplômé du programme Next Up Climate Leadership. Il fait aussi souvent du bénévolat au centre de halte-accueil de Calgary.

Thana se présente comme candidat du Parti vert du Canada à l'élection fédérale de 2015 dans Calgary-Centre. Il est aussi actuellement membre élu du Conseil fédéral du Parti vert du Canada à titre de représentant de l'Alberta.

Thana sent l'urgence d'agir sur le changement climatique. Grâce à ses efforts acharnés, il estime que l'Alberta possède les ressources et les compétences nécessaires pour bâtir une économie prospère et durable pour les générations à venir. Il croit qu'il est de son devoir de donner la parole à ceux qui veulent voir une action politique courageuse.

En tant qu'alpiniste et photographe passionné, Thana s'engage à améliorer notre relation avec la nature.