Regina—Wascana

Tamela Friesen

306-526-9735


Tamela Friesen has always had a keen interest in serving her community, becoming more passionate and knowledgeable about social, environmental and democratic justice along the way. She worked three years as Community Development Coordinator in inner-city Winnipeg, fostering food security and interdependence among residents. She spent ten years in rural Manitoba owning and operating a bed and breakfast, market garden and consulting company. She was also a founding board member of the Farmers’ Market Association of Manitoba and president of the Roblin Farmers’ Market. For the last six years, Tamela as worked as an Admission Specialist for graduate studies at the University of Regina.
 
Volunteerism is important to Tamela. She has served the Saskatchewan Cycling Association as safety educator, the Wascana Freewheelers as weekend tour coordinator, the University of Regina Curling Club as president, and the McNab Community Association as newsletter editor. In all capacities, Tamela enjoys teaching and learning from others and facilitating their successes.
 
Tamela is particularly passionate about food security, poverty elimination, elder care and reconciliation. Aggressively tending to the health of our planet is the foundation for all of these passions, and climate action is at the centre of all her work. Tamela believes that renewing democratic institutions will make way for effective climate policy and greater equity.
 
Tamela lives and works in Regina with her partner of nineteen years, Karen Hardy. Both enjoy friends and family, cycling, community involvement, cross-country skiing, continuous learning and their two cats. Tamela completed a Master’s Certificate in Public Policy Analysis in 2016.

Regina—Wascana

Tamela Friesen

306-526-9735

Tamela Friesen a toujours eu un vif intérêt à servir sa communauté, devenant ainsi plus passionnée et mieux informée au sujet de la justice sociale, environnementale et démocratique. Elle a travaillé trois ans comme coordonnatrice du développement communautaire au centre-ville de Winnipeg, favorisant la sécurité alimentaire et l'interdépendance entre les résidents. Elle a passé dix ans dans une région rurale du Manitoba où elle a été propriétaire d'un gîte touristique, d'un potager et d'une entreprise de consultation. Elle a également été membre fondatrice du conseil d'administration de la Farmers' Market Association of Manitoba et présidente du Roblin Farmers' Market. Au cours des six dernières années, Tamela a travaillé comme spécialiste des admissions aux études supérieures à l'Université de Regina.
 
Le bénévolat est important pour Tamela. Elle a travaillé à la Saskatchewan Cycling Association à titre d'éducatrice en sécurité, les Wascana Freewheelers à titre de coordonnatrice de la tournée de fin de semaine, le University of Regina Curling Club à titre de présidente et la McNab Community Association à titre de rédactrice du bulletin. À tous les titres, Tamela aime enseigner et apprendre des autres et faciliter leurs succès.
 
Tamela est particulièrement passionnée par la sécurité alimentaire, l'élimination de la pauvreté, les soins aux aînés et la réconciliation. Prendre soin de la santé de notre planète est le fondement de toutes ces passions. L'action climatique est au centre de tout son travail. Tamela est convaincue que le renouvellement des institutions démocratiques fera place à une politique climatique efficace et à une plus grande équité.
 
Tamela vit et travaille à Regina avec Karen Hardy, sa partenaire depuis dix-neuf ans. Tous deux aiment leurs amis et leur famille, le vélo, la participation communautaire, le ski de fond, l'apprentissage continu et leurs deux chats. Tamela a obtenu un certificat de maîtrise en analyse des politiques publiques en 2016.