Winnipeg-South Centre

James Beddome grew up on a mixed livestock farm in the heart of the Little Saskatchewan River Valley near Rapid City, Manitoba. This upbringing instilled in him a strong appreciation for nature.

James moved to Winnipeg in 2001 to pursue his education, graduating from the University of Manitoba with a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) degree in political studies and economics. After obtaining his first degree, James became actively involved with the Green Party, recognizing that only the Greens offered an honest and sincere attempt to deal with economic inequality and the pending climate crisis. 

In 2008, James was elected as the Leader of the Green Party of Manitoba, and he continues to serve in that position to this day. From 2008-2013, James balanced his Green Party leadership duties with part-time law studies and part-time employment as an environmental research consultant. 

James was called to the Bar of Manitoba on May 28, 2014, and in October of 2017 he and Seneca Longclaws founded the firm Beddome and Longclaws Law Corporation.

James’ legal practice focuses on serving First Nation Governments, tribal organizations, and individuals with legal matters pertaining to indigenous law, environmental law, and civil litigation. James has handled matters before the Clean Environment Commission, the National Energy Board, the Independent Assessment Process established as part of the Residential Schools Settlement Agreement, the Manitoba Queen’s Bench, The Federal Court of Canada, and the Federal Court of Appeal.
 
In addition to his duties as a lawyer and leader of the Green Party of Manitoba, James enjoys gardening in his spare time.

Winnipeg-Centre-Sud

James Beddome a grandi dans une ferme d'élevage mixte au cœur de la vallée de la rivière Little Saskatchewan, près de Rapid City, au Manitoba. Cette éducation lui a inculqué une forte appréciation de la nature.

James déménage à Winnipeg en 2001 pour poursuivre ses études et obtient un baccalauréat (avec distinction) en études politiques et en économie de l'Université du Manitoba. Après l'obtention de son premier diplôme, James s'engage activement au sein du Parti vert, reconnaissant que seuls les Verts constituaient une tentative honnête et sincère de faire face aux inégalités économiques et à la crise climatique imminente. 

En 2008, James est élu chef du Parti vert du Manitoba et il occupe encore ce poste actuellement. Entre 2008 et 2013, il concilie ses fonctions de chef du Parti vert avec des études de droit à temps partiel et un emploi à temps partiel en tant que consultant en recherche environnementale. 

James est admis au Barreau du Manitoba le 28 mai 2014 et, en octobre 2017, il fonde avec Seneca Longclaws le cabinet Beddome and Longclaws Law Corporation.

La pratique juridique de James est axée sur les services aux gouvernements des Premières nations, aux organisations tribales et aux particuliers dans les domaines du droit autochtone, du droit de l'environnement et des litiges civils. James a plaidé devant la Commission de protection de l'environnement, l'Office national de l'énergie, le Processus d'évaluation indépendant établi dans le cadre de la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats autochtones, la Cour du Banc de la Reine du Manitoba, la Cour fédérale du Canada et la Cour fédérale d'appel.
 
En plus de ses fonctions d'avocat et de chef du Parti vert du Manitoba, James aime jardiner dans ses temps libres.