Selkirk—Interlake—Eastman

Wayne James lives in the Beausejour area and farms the land he grew up on, as did his father and grandfather before him. Beginning in 1999, Wayne began to convert the farm over to organic production after he had an epiphany about the damage that agricultural chemicals were having on the land that had given so much to him and his family.

In 1977, Wayne received a B.A. from the University of Winnipeg, majoring in theatre. From there he began working at CKX TV Brandon as a studio director, producer and writer, and ultimately as a freelance producer. Later in life, Wayne became a professional driving instructor and worked with a number of organizations and police forces. He has also written and performed fives shows for the Winnipeg Fringe in which he explores political and social issues that are important to him.

His interest in politics is as deep as his interest in the land. Wayne believes strongly in social democracy as a living dynamic energy that the human spirit has the ability to guide and shape. As he has noted, "our first responsibility is not to the economy, it is to future generations.” Given the times we are living in, with climate change and the toxification of the air, soil, and water, this truth has never been more relevant to him.

Wayne is involved with the Sandy-Saultreaux Spiritual Centre, and has been working with them because he feels that we need to close the circle of understanding that has been so destructive to so many human souls. He believes the period of reconciliation we are living in is not only between Canada and its First Nations people, it is between all Canadians and the lands we call home.

Wayne is inspired by the words of Leon Shenandoah of the Six Nations of the Iroquois Confederacy: "These are our times and our responsibilities. Every human being has a sacred duty to protect mother earth from whom all life comes. In order to do this, we must recognize the enemy...ourselves." Wayne knows that we can all do more the lessen our impact on the land, while still building thriving communities.

Wayne also ran as a Green Party of Canada candidate during the 2015 federal election, and is looking forward to connecting with even more neighbours and supporters this time around.

Selkirk—Interlake—Eastman

Wayne James habite dans la région de Beauséjour et cultive la terre sur laquelle il a grandi, tout comme son père et son grand-père avant lui. À partir de 1999, Wayne commence à convertir la ferme à la production biologique après avoir eu une révélation sur les dommages causés par les produits chimiques agricoles sur la terre qui lui avait tant donné ainsi qu'à sa famille.

En 1977, Wayne obtient un baccalauréat de l'Université de Winnipeg en théâtre. Par la suite, il  commence à travailler chez CKX TV Brandon en tant que réalisateur de studio, producteur et scénariste, et finalement en tant que producteur indépendant. Plus tard dans sa vie, Wayne  devient instructeur professionnel d'auto-école et travaille avec un certain nombre d'organisations et de corps policiers. Il écrit et interprète cinq spectacles pour le Winnipeg Fringe dans lesquels il explore des questions politiques et sociales importantes pour lui.

Son intérêt pour la politique est aussi profond que son intérêt pour la terre. Wayne croit fermement en la social-démocratie comme une énergie dynamique vivante que l'esprit humain a la capacité de guider et de façonner. Comme il l'a noté, « notre première responsabilité n'est pas envers l'économie, mais envers les générations à venir. » Compte tenu de l'époque dans laquelle nous vivons, des changements climatiques et de la toxicification de l'air, du sol et de l'eau, cette vérité n'a jamais été aussi pertinente pour lui.

Wayne est impliqué avec le Sandy-Saultreaux Spiritual Centre. Il croit que la période de réconciliation que nous devons amorcer ne doit pas s’effectuer uniquement entre le Canada et ses peuples des Premières nations, mais entre tous les Canadiens et les terres que nous habitons.

Wayne s'inspire des paroles de Leon Shenandoah des Six Nations de la Confédération iroquoise : « Il s’agit de notre époque et de nos responsabilités. Tout être humain a le devoir sacré de protéger la terre d'où vient toute vie. Pour ce faire, nous devons reconnaître l'ennemi...nous-mêmes. » Wayne sait que nous pouvons tous en faire davantage pour réduire notre impact sur la terre tout en continuant à bâtir des collectivités prospères.

Wayne s'est également présenté comme candidat du Parti vert du Canada lors de l'élection fédérale de 2015. Il a hâte de rencontrer encore plus de sympathisants lors de l’élection à venir.