Saint-Boniface—Saint-Vital

Ben Linnick is an environmental activist, mental health advocate and proud Manitoba Métis. He is honoured to serve the citizens of Winnipeg as an emergency communications operator and dispatcher with the City of Winnipeg Fire Paramedic Service. In addition to his regular duties, he was selected by his colleagues to serve on the Peer Wellness Team to act as a promoter of mental health and well being in the workplace. He enjoys engaging in public education opportunities and outreach within the community such as youth camps, school events and the annual Sirens for Life blood drive.
 
Ben was born and raised in northern Manitoba in the mining town of Flin Flon. It was there as a young boy he grew up seeing the impacts of the industrial mining operation on the environment and the people of his community. It was also in his youth he had his love and respect for the natural world instilled in him. He fundraised for the climate affected polar bears of Churchill, volunteered with the local SPCA and along with his family nursed many sick and injured wild animals back to health.
 
Ben moved to Winnipeg in 2007, where he began his education at the University of Manitoba. He graduated on the Dean’s List with a Bachelor of Arts in 2012. Inspired in his youth by Louis Riel, he took to learning languages and he vows to protect and promote the culture and history of Saint Boniface—Saint Vital.
 
As someone who tries avidly to make the world a little better each day, Ben wants to be a strong advocate for Saint Boniface—Saint Vital by championing the cause of sustainable living to combat the climate crisis, working to reduce income inequality and rising poverty, and promoting a healthier community. 
 
Ben lives in Winnipeg with his wife Alyssa and daughter Ava.

Saint-Boniface—Saint-Vital

Ben Linnick est un militant environnemental, un défenseur de la santé mentale et un fier Métis du Manitoba. Il est honoré de servir les citoyens de Winnipeg à titre d'opérateur des communications d'urgence et de répartiteur pour le Service paramédic d'incendie de la Ville de Winnipeg. En plus de ses fonctions habituelles, il a été choisi par ses collègues pour faire partie de l'équipe de mieux-être mental par les pairs afin d'agir comme promoteur de la santé mentale et du bien-être au travail. Il aime participer à des activités d'éducation publique et de sensibilisation au sein de la collectivité comme des camps de jeunes, des activités scolaires et la collecte de sang annuelle Sirens for Life blood.
 
Ben naît et grandit dans le nord du Manitoba, dans la ville minière de Flin Flon. C'est durant sa jeunesse qu'il constate les répercussions de l'exploitation minière industrielle sur l'environnement et les gens de sa collectivité. C'est aussi dans sa jeunesse qu'on lui inculque son amour et son respect de la nature. Il a recueilli des fonds pour les ours polaires de Churchill affectés par le climat, fait du bénévolat auprès de la SPCA locale et, avec sa famille, il a soigné de nombreux animaux sauvages malades et blessés.
 
Ben déménage à Winnipeg en 2007, où il commence ses études à l'Université du Manitoba. Il obtient un baccalauréat en 2012. Inspiré dans sa jeunesse par Louis Riel, il s'initie à l'apprentissage des langues et s'engage à protéger et promouvoir la culture et l'histoire de Saint-Boniface-Saint-Vital.
 
En tant que personne qui essaie avidement de rendre le monde un peu meilleur chaque jour, Ben veut être un ardent défenseur de Saint-Boniface-Saint-Vital en défendant la cause des modes de vie durables pour combattre la crise climatique en travaillant à réduire les inégalités de revenu et la pauvreté croissante et en promouvant une communauté plus saine. 
 
Ben vit à Winnipeg avec sa femme Alyssa et sa fille Ava.