Provencher

Janine Gibson has served sustainable agriculture in Manitoba and across North America for the last 25 years through her organic inspection and education business, Creative Health Consulting. She has conducted over 5,000 verification audits as an accredited member of the International Organic Inspectors Association (IOIA). She was president of Canadian Organic Growers (COG) from 2002 to 2007, and currently serves on their executive as secretary. In 1999, she helped found the COG’s local chapter, the Organic Food Council of Manitoba, and is also a founding member of the Manitoba Organic Alliance. She currently represents Manitoba in the Organic Federation of Canada and on the Canadian General Standards Board Organic Standards Committee.

Janine studied psychology at the University of Winnipeg and human ecology at the University of Manitoba. She has been dedicated to lifelong learning as both student and teacher with the IOIA, where she currently serves as a peer evaluator. She gives seminars on organic agriculture and has taught organic inspection as well as organic crop and livestock production through Assiniboine Community College.

Janine strives to support green values through her work in developing more resilient agricultural practices and in the home she shares: a solar and wind-powered small mixed farm south of Steinbach. She is a long-time member of both the Green Party of Canada and the Green Party of Manitoba, and has served as a candidate for both many times in the past. Her emphasis on sustainable agriculture coincides with Vision Green and, she believes, addresses many of the social, environmental, and economic challenges we currently face.

Janine is the proud mother of two adult children, Arel and Andrew, and grandmother to two young adults, Saige and Noble.

Provencher

Janine Gibson est au service de l'agriculture durable au Manitoba et en Amérique du Nord depuis 25 ans par l'entremise de son entreprise d'inspection et d'éducation biologiques, Creative Health Consulting. Elle a effectué plus de 5 000 audits de vérification en tant que membre accrédité de l'International Organic Inspectors Association (IOIA). Elle occupe le poste de présidente de Canadian Organic Growers (COG) entre 2002 et 2007 et en est actuellement la secrétaire. En 1999, elle participe à la fondation de la section locale du GPC, le Organic Food Council of Manitoba, et est également membre fondateur de la Manitoba Organic Alliance. Elle représente actuellement le Manitoba au sein de la Fédération biologique du Canada et du Comité des normes biologiques de l'Office des normes générales du Canada.

Janine a étudié la psychologie à l'Université de Winnipeg et l'écologie humaine à l'Université du Manitoba. Elle se consacre à l'apprentissage tout au long de son parcours en tant qu'étudiante et enseignante à l'IOIA, où elle fait actuellement office d'évaluatrice. Elle donne des séminaires sur l'agriculture biologique et a enseigné l'inspection biologique ainsi que l'agriculture et l'élevage biologiques au Collège communautaire Assiniboine.

Janine s'efforce de soutenir les valeurs vertes par son travail dans le développement de pratiques agricoles plus résistantes et dans la maison qu'elle partage : une petite ferme mixte solaire et éolienne au sud de Steinbach. Elle est membre de longue date du Parti vert du Canada et du Parti vert du Manitoba et a été candidate à ces deux partis à maintes reprises dans le passé. L'importance qu'elle accorde à l'agriculture durable coïncide avec la Vision verte et, selon elle, elle s'attaque à bon nombre des défis sociaux, environnementaux et économiques auxquels nous sommes actuellement confrontés.

Janine est la fière mère de deux enfants adultes, Arel et Andrew, et la grand-mère de deux jeunes adultes, Saige et Noble.