Charleswood—St. James—Assiniboia—Headingley

Kristin was born and raised in Winnipeg. She discovered her passion for conservation and animal protection while camping and hiking with her family in parks across Manitoba. 


Kristin studied at the University of Manitoba, first completing her Bachelor of Arts in Political Science and then obtaining an LL.B. from the Robson Hall Faculty of Law. After graduating from law school, Kristin moved to Toronto where she articled in a general practice law firm and was called to the Ontario Bar. Since then, she has spent over two decades working in the non-profit sector to advance environmental, conservation, and animal protection issues. Over the years, she has worked across Canada, Europe, and Africa in non-profit organizations raising funds to combat climate change and to fight for endangered species protection and environmental justice. She has worked on issues both at a grassroots community level and internationally. For Kristin, living in Uganda brought home the interconnectedness of life, as she saw first-hand the negative impact that actions taken in developed countries—like massive use of fossil fuels and industrial animal agriculture—have on developing economies.


Kristin spent her childhood summers in cottage country on Lake Winnipeg. Upon returning to Winnipeg, she has been horrified to see the degraded state into which the world’s 10th largest lake has descended, regularly covered in toxic algal blooms that make it undrinkable and unswimmable. Faced with the depletion of natural resources and a planet that is being choked by plastic and other waste, Kristin is driven to reduce overconsumption. 


Kristin was inspired to run for the Green Party of Canada by their shared commitment to these challenges. Kristin has lived her beliefs by maintaining a lifestyle as close to zero waste as possible and has been vegan since 2009.
Kristin is the director of development for the Animal Legal Defense Fund, whose mission is to protect the lives and advance the interests of animals through the legal system. The Animal Legal Defense Fund files high-impact lawsuits to protect animals from harm, provides legal assistance and training to prosecutors in their fight against animal cruelty, supports animal protection legislation, and provides resources and opportunities to law students and professionals to advance the field of animal law.


Kristin is active with the organizing committee of Manitoba Animal Save. In her spare time Kristin’s absolute favourite thing is hiking and spending time in nature. She also loves reading, dancing, and dabbling in art projects. She is passionate about adventure traveling, especially in eastern and southern Africa.

Charleswood—St. James—Assiniboia—Headingley

Kristin est née et a grandi à Winnipeg. Elle s’est découvert une passion pour la conservation et la protection des animaux en faisant du camping et de la randonnée pédestre avec sa famille dans les parcs du Manitoba. 


Kristin a étudié à l'Université du Manitoba, où elle a d'abord obtenu un baccalauréat ès arts en sciences politiques, puis un baccalauréat en droit de la faculté de droit Robson Hall. Après avoir obtenu son diplôme en droit, Kristin a déménagé à Toronto où elle a fait son stage dans un cabinet d'avocats général et a été admise au barreau de l'Ontario. Depuis, elle a passé plus de deux décennies à travailler dans le secteur sans but lucratif pour faire avancer les questions d'environnement, de conservation et de protection des animaux. Au fil des ans, elle a travaillé dans de nombreux endroits au Canada, en Europe et en Afrique au sein d'organismes sans but lucratif qui recueillent des fonds pour lutter contre les changements climatiques et pour lutter pour la protection des espèces en péril et la justice environnementale. Ses efforts ont été déployés à la fois sur le plan communautaire et à l’échelle internationale. Pour Kristin, le fait de vivre en Ouganda a mis en évidence l'interdépendance de la vie, car elle a pu constater directement l'impact négatif des mesures prises dans les pays développés – comme l'utilisation massive de combustibles fossiles et les pratiques d’élevage industriel – sur les économies en développement.

Kristin a passé les étés de son enfance dans des chalets au bord du lac Winnipeg. De retour au Manitoba, elle a été horrifiée de voir l'état de dégradation du dixième plus grand lac du monde, qui est régulièrement recouvert d'algues toxiques qui rendent son eau imbuvable et empêchent toute baignade. Face à l'épuisement des ressources naturelles et à une planète étouffée par le plastique et d'autres déchets, Kristin s'efforce de réduire sa surconsommation. 


Kristin a décidé de se porter candidate pour le Parti vert du Canada parce qu’elle partage l’engagement de cette formation à relever les grands défis environnementaux. Kristin met en application ses propres principes en maintenant un style de vie aussi proche que possible de l’objectif zéro déchet et elle est végétalienne depuis 2009.
Kristin est directrice du développement de l'Animal Legal Defense Fund, dont la mission est de protéger la vie et de promouvoir les intérêts des animaux grâce au système juridique. Ce fonds de défense juridique des animaux intente des poursuites sérieuses pour protéger les animaux contre différentes formes de tort, fournit de l’aide juridique, offre une formation aux procureurs pour les aider dans la lutte contre la cruauté envers les animaux, appuie la législation sur la protection des animaux et fournit des ressources et des possibilités aux étudiants en droit et aux professionnels pour faire progresser le domaine du droit animal.


Kristin est active au sein du comité organisateur de Manitoba Animal Save. Dans ses temps libres, elle pratique la randonnée pédestre et profite de moments passés dans la nature. Elle aime aussi la lecture, la danse et les projets artistiques. Elle est passionnée par les voyages d'aventure, particulièrement en Afrique orientale et australe.