Wellington—Halton Hills

Ralph Martin grew up on a beef and hog farm near Wallenstein, an upbringing that has always tied him to Wellington County. Though he has been lucky enough to live and work in other parts of our great country, he is proud to call this place home.

In addition to Wellington County, Ralph called the Ottawa area home for over fifteen years, an experience that helped him appreciate wilderness from the stern of a canoe and countless hiking trails. Later, two decades of serving as a professor in Nova Scotia helped him appreciate Maritime music, long yarns and oceans — and will always remain special to him as the birthplace of his daughter, Mariah.

Ralph holds a Ph.D. in Plant Science from McGill University, a degree which helped pave his way into teaching. In 2001, he founded the Organic Agriculture Centre of Canada to coordinate university research and education pertaining to organic systems across Canada. From 2011 to 2016, he was the Loblaw Chair in Sustainable Food Production at the University of Guelph, where he is a Professor.

Community service is central to Ralph’s relationships with people and ecological systems. For example, he writes Guelph Mercury Tribune articles and chairs the Canadian Rights and Freedom Centre. He frequently collaborates with the Ecological Farmers Association of Ontario and the Organic Science Cluster. He also served on the Board of the Guelph Ignatius Jesuit Centre and the United Way Committee at the University of Guelph.

Ralph has been a Green Party of Canada member for over a decade. He campaigned for Elizabeth May in Pictou County, Nova Scotia, in 2008, and later by phone during her successful campaign in British Columbia. He has also been a consistent GPC and GPO financial supporter.  

Ralph appreciates legacies of First Nations civilizations and recognizes how addressing climate change, species loss and pollution requires partnerships with the indigenous people of this land. He is deeply respectful of the fact the Attawandaron peoples have sustained a living in Guelph for millennia.

Wellington—Halton Hills

Ralph Martin a grandi dans une ferme bovine et porcine près de Wallenstein. Il a toujours été lié à la circonscription de Wellington. Bien qu'il ait eu la chance de vivre et de travailler dans d'autres régions de notre grand pays, il est fier d'appeler cet endroit sa patrie.

En plus de Wellington, Ralph a habité la région d'Ottawa pendant plus de quinze ans. Cette expérience l'a aidé à apprécier la nature sauvage lors de ses périples en canot et de ses innombrables randonnées. Ensuite, deux décennies passées comme professeur en Nouvelle-Écosse l'ont aidé à apprécier la musique des Maritimes. La Nouvelle-Écosse restera toujours spéciale pour lui car il s’agit du lieu de naissance de sa fille Mariah.

Ralph est titulaire d'un doctorat en sciences végétales de l'Université McGill. Ce diplôme l'a aidé à se tailler une place dans l'enseignement. En 2001, il a fondé le Centre d'agriculture biologique du Canada afin de coordonner la recherche et l'enseignement universitaire sur les systèmes biologiques au Canada. De 2011 à 2016, il a été titulaire de la Chaire Loblaw en production alimentaire durable à l'Université de Guelph, où il est professeur.

Le service communautaire est au cœur des relations de Ralph avec les gens et l’environnement. Par exemple, il écrit des articles du Guelph Mercury Tribune et préside le Canadian Rights and Freedom Centre. Il collabore fréquemment avec l'Ecological Farmers Association of Ontario et la Organic Science Cluster. Il a également siégé au conseil d'administration du Guelph Ignatius Jesuit Centre et au comité United Way de l'Université de Guelph.

Ralph est membre du Parti vert du Canada depuis plus d'une décennie. Il a fait campagne pour Elizabeth May dans le comté de Pictou, en Nouvelle-Écosse, en 2008. Il a également effectué des appels téléphoniques pendant la campagne victorieuse d’Elizabeth en Colombie-Britannique. Il est aussi été un soutien financier constant du PVC et du Parti vert de l’Ontario.  

Ralph apprécie l'héritage des civilisations des Premières nations et reconnaît que la lutte contre les changements climatiques, les extinctions d’espèces animales et la pollution exigent des partenariats avec les peuples autochtones. Il respecte profondément le fait que les Attawandaron vivent à Guelph depuis des millénaires.