University—Rosedale

Tim Grant is passionate about building a world in which social and ecological justice is front and centre. He has been an organizer all of his adult life, and over the past 16 years has initiated more than 20 community projects within the riding of University—Rosedale, most of them while serving as a board member and the Chair of the Harbord Village Residents’ Association.
 
Upon completion of a dual Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Education program, Tim taught high school for 13 years opposite the Pickering nuclear power plant. Since then, he has been an editor and now the publisher of Green Teacher for 28 years. During that time, he co-edited Green Teacher magazine and its 10 books, and hosted 85 webinars on a wide variety of environmental education topics.

He has been an active canvasser on federal Green campaigns for Nick Wright (2015) in University—Rosedale, Camille Labchuk (2014 by-election) in Trinity—Spadina, and John Deverell (2013 by-election) in Toronto Centre. He has run for the Green Party of Ontario as a candidate in the last three provincial elections, initially in Trinity—Spadina and most recently in University—Rosedale. He has also served as the GPO transport critic for seven years and continues to mentor younger candidates.

In his spare time, Tim enjoys watching films on big screens, reading novels, and exploring the diverse cuisines of the Greater Toronto Area. For exercise, he plays basketball twice a week and rides his bike on a daily basis. He also enjoys hiking, snowshoeing and skiing. He and his partner, Gail Littlejohn, have been restoring their downtown Toronto home for more than 30 years.

University—Rosedale

Tim Grant est passionné par la construction d'un monde au sein duquel la justice sociale et écologique figurent au cœur des préoccupations. Il a été organisateur durant toute sa vie adulte et, au cours des 16 dernières années, il a lancé plus de 20 projets communautaires dans la circonscription d'University-Rosedale, dont la plupart à titre de membre du conseil d'administration et de président de l'association des résidents de Harbord Village.
 
Après avoir obtenu un double baccalauréat ès arts et un baccalauréat en éducation, Tim a enseigné pendant 13 ans à l'école secondaire en face de la centrale nucléaire de Pickering. Depuis lors, il a été rédacteur en chef et maintenant éditeur de Green Teacher pendant 28 ans. Au cours de cette période, il a coédité le magazine Green Teacher et ses 10 livres, et a animé 85 webinaires sur une grande variété de sujets d'éducation environnementale.

Il a été un solliciteur actif dans les campagnes écologiques fédérales pour Nick Wright (2015) dans University-Rosedale, Camille Labchuk (élection partielle de 2014) dans Trinity-Spadina, et John Deverell (élection partielle de 2013) dans Toronto Centre. Il s'est présenté comme candidat du Parti vert de l'Ontario aux trois dernières élections provinciales, d'abord dans Trinity-Spadina et plus récemment dans University-Rosedale. Il a également été porte-parole en matière de transport du PVO pendant sept ans et continue de servir de mentor à de jeunes candidats.

Dans ses temps libres, Tim aime regarder des films sur grand écran, lire des romans et explorer les divers restaurants de la région du Grand Toronto. Pour faire de l'exercice, il joue au basket-ball deux fois par semaine et fait du vélo tous les jours. Il aime aussi la randonnée pédestre, la raquette et le ski. Lui et sa partenaire Gail Littlejohn habitent et entretiennent  leur maison du centre-ville de Toronto depuis plus de 30 ans.