Scarborough Southwest

Amanda is running to be your Green Party candidate in Scarborough Southwest.
 
Amanda Cain, 40, a Scarborough resident, was born and raised in Scarborough South West. With an education in Corporate Communications, Amanda has being managing Youth Economic Development Programs for the past 15 years and worked in the arts and entertainment industry prior to her work in the nonprofit world.
 
An active community advocate she has been addressing issues of education and training, economic development and civic engagement in Neighbourhood improvement areas of Toronto for the past 20 years. As a mother, she believes in building strong communities that support our most vulnerable citizens and has worked in building policy on poverty reduction in her spare time.
 
A tenacious, honest and born environmentalist, Amanda has been honoured with The Ontario Volunteer Service Award and Toronto Dollar Award for her ongoing commitment to social change and advocacy. Most recently she was selected to contribute to the Ontario Campaign 2000 for Poverty Reduction policy recommendations.
 
​Her activism started early by recognizing social racial inequity, as a student at R.H. King Academy she founded the United Cultures of King, launching her vocation for advocacy. She has volunteered on Environmental action with Lake Ontario Waterkeeper, WWF and The David Suzuki Foundation. She has walked with Native Elder and Water Warrior Grandmother Jospehine Mandamin and promised her to continue her legacy and protect Lake Ontario for future generations. Her most recent volunteer endeavours take place in Malvern to address the issues of biodiversity, food security and advocating for rapid transit on Sheppard Avenue East.
 
As your next Green MP for Scarborough Southwest, Amanda will champion:
Transitioning to a clean green economic model,
Protecting and conserving our Fresh Water,
Renewing relationships with Canada’s Indigenous Peoples; and     
Demanding Democratic Renewal
 
The Green Party of Canada’s commitment to solving our climate crisis with Mission Possible solidified her resolve to run for the Party.

Scarborough-Sud-Ouest

Amanda est votre du Parti vert dans Scarborough-Sud-Ouest.
 
Amanda Cain, 40 ans, résidente de Scarborough, est née et a grandi à Scarborough-Sud-Ouest. Diplômée en communications d'entreprise, Amanda gère des programmes de développement économique pour les jeunes depuis 15 ans et a travaillé dans l'industrie des arts et du divertissement avant de travailler dans le secteur sans but lucratif.
 
Militante communautaire active, elle s'intéresse depuis 20 ans aux questions d'éducation et de formation, de développement économique et d'engagement civique dans les quartiers défavorisés de Toronto. En tant que mère, elle croit qu'il faut bâtir des communautés fortes qui soutiennent nos citoyens les plus vulnérables et elle travaille à l'élaboration de politiques pour la réduction de la pauvreté pendant ses temps libres.
 
Écologiste tenace et authentique, Amanda a reçu le Prix du bénévolat de l'Ontario et le Toronto Dollar Award pour son engagement continu envers le changement social et la défense des droits humains. Plus récemment, elle a été choisie pour contribuer aux recommandations de Campagne 2000 de l'Ontario pour la réduction de la pauvreté.

Son activisme a commencé très tôt en reconnaissant l'inégalité ethnique sociale. Alors qu'elle était étudiante à l'Académie R.H. King, elle a fondé les United Cultures of King, lançant sa vocation pour la défense des droits humains. Elle a fait du bénévolat pour l'action environnementale auprès de Lake Ontario Waterkeeper, du WWF et de la Fondation David Suzuki. Elle a fréquenté Jospehine Mandamin, aînée autochtone et grand-mère de Water Warrior et lui a promis de continuer son héritage et de protéger le lac Ontario pour les générations à venir. Ses plus récentes activités bénévoles ont lieu à Malvern et portent sur la biodiversité, la sécurité alimentaire et la promotion du transport en commun rapide sur l'avenue Sheppard Est.
 
En tant que prochaine députée verte de Scarborough-Sud-Ouest, Amanda s’engage à :
Assurer la transition vers un modèle économique propre et écologique
Protéger et conserver notre eau douce
Renouveler les relations avec les peuples autochtones du Canada     
Exiger un renouveau démocratique
 
L'engagement du Parti vert du Canada à résoudre notre crise climatique avec Mission possible a renforcé sa détermination à se présenter pour le Parti.