Parkdale—High Park

Nick Capra is president and co-owner of Running Free, a local chain of specialty run shops in Southern Ontario. At age 17, he began his business, and 35 years later, continues to serve the athletic and active lifestyle communities. 

In 1998, Nick initiated the ReUse Shoe Program, where he encouraged his customers to return their unwanted used shoes. To date, this program has diverted over 200,000 pairs of footwear from Ontario landfills to those who can use them. This program has reached both local and international communities, including Haiti and Sierra Leone. Because of the increased needs in Canada, most of the shoes collected are now distributed by front line agencies in Toronto.

In 2008, Nick was instrumental in delivering the Marathon de la Solidarite, a 10km race in Haiti. The event was a celebration of community where UN observers estimated over 20,000 local runners took part. The following year, he and his team were in-flight heading to Haiti when the devastating earthquake occurred. After being diverted back to Toronto, they worked to raise over $80,000 to build a trade school in north Haiti.

Since its inception in 2006, Nick continues to play an essential role as race director in organizing and executing the Start2Finish 5km Run and Read Challenge and awards ceremony. After 12 years, this after school program now reaches 50 communities across Canada promoting physical activity and literacy for students living in impoverished neighborhoods with the aim of making graduation a reality.

For more than two decades, Nick has been deeply engaged in matters of public affairs and governance. He has previously run for the Green Party of Canada in 2004 and 2006. Nick had the honour of representing the Party at regional debates including the North York Board of Trade and a CBC Radio One live broadcast, where he went head-to-head with veteran politicians Bob Rae, Olivia Chow and Peter Van Loan. Currently, Nick is pursuing a degree in Public Administration and Governance at Ryerson University.

Parkdale—High Park

Nick Capra est président et copropriétaire de Running Free, une chaîne locale de boutiques spécialisées dans le sud de l'Ontario. À l'âge de 17 ans, il a lancé son entreprise et, 35 ans plus tard, il continue de servir les sportifs de sa communauté. 

En 1998, Nick a lancé le programme ReUse Shoe au sein duquel il encourageait ses clients à rapporter leurs chaussures usagées non désirées. À ce jour, ce programme a permis de détourner plus de 200 000 paires de chaussures des sites d'enfouissement de l'Ontario vers des gens qui en avaient besoin. Ce programme a atteint les communautés locales et internationales, y compris Haïti et la Sierra Leone. En raison des besoins accrus au Canada, la plupart des chaussures recueillies sont maintenant distribuées par des organismes de première ligne à Toronto.

En 2008, Nick a joué un rôle déterminant dans l'organisation du Marathon de la Solidarité, une course de 10 km en Haïti. L'événement se voulait une célébration de la communauté à laquelle les observateurs de l'ONU ont estimé que plus de 20.000 coureurs locaux ont participé. L'année suivante, lui et son équipe étaient en route vers Haïti lorsque le tremblement de terre dévastateur s'est produit. Après avoir été renvoyés à Toronto, ils ont recueilli plus de 80 000 $ pour construire une école de métiers dans le nord d'Haïti.

Depuis 2006, Nick continue de jouer un rôle essentiel en tant qu’organisateur de courses dans l'organisation et l'exécution du Start2Finish 5km Run et la cérémonie de remise des prix. Après 12 ans, ce programme parascolaire rejoint maintenant 50 communautés à travers le Canada qui font la promotion de l'activité physique et de la littératie auprès des élèves vivant dans des quartiers défavorisés dans le but leur venir en aide dans leur parcours scolaire.

Depuis plus de deux décennies, Nick est profondément engagé dans les affaires publiques et la gouvernance. Il a déjà été candidat pour le Parti vert du Canada en 2004 et en 2006. Il a également eu l'honneur de représenter le Parti lors de débats régionaux, notamment au North York Board of Trade et à une émission en direct de CBC Radio One, où il a rencontré Bob Rae, Olivia Chow et Peter Van Loan, des politiciens chevronnés. Nick poursuit actuellement des études en administration publique et en gouvernance à l'Université Ryerson.