Nipissing—Timiskaming

Alexander Gomm was born and raised in North Bay, and lived there for most of his life. He was educated in the French Catholic School system and speaks English, French, German and beginner level Spanish. While in North Bay, he has volunteered at the Gathering Place Soup Kitchen and with First Nations and Non-First Nations youth teaching martial arts and healthy lifestyle choices.

Alexander attended Nipissing University and graduated with a BA, honours, in Geography of Regional Planning and International Development. His studies helped him to understand the environmental and human factors that are considered in developing legislation and policy in development and economic planning. He subsequently completed a Master of Education at Nipissing University and a diploma in Advanced GIS applications through Vancouver Island University. He completed both of these online while teaching.

For the past nine years, Alexander has taught in South Korea and China, and volunteered on education and environmental projects in Nepal, Kenya and Thailand. Now back in North Bay, he is excited to apply his knowledge, education and passion to work for a greener, healthier and more prosperous community here in Nipissing—Timiskaming.

Nipissing—Timiskaming

Alexander Gomm est né et a grandi à North Bay, où il a vécu presque toute sa vie. Il a fait ses études dans le système scolaire catholique français et parle l'anglais, le français, l'allemand et l'espagnol de niveau débutant. Pendant son séjour à North Bay, il a fait du bénévolat à la soupe populaire de Gathering Place et auprès de jeunes Autochtones et non-Autochtones qui enseignent les arts martiaux et les choix de vie sains.

Alexander a étudié à l'Université Nipissing et a obtenu un baccalauréat spécialisé en géographie de la planification régionale et du développement international. Ses études l'ont aidé à comprendre les facteurs environnementaux et humains qui sont pris en compte dans l'élaboration des lois et des politiques en matière de développement et de planification économique. Il a par la suite obtenu une maîtrise en éducation à l'Université Nipissing et un diplôme en applications SIG avancées à l'Université de l'île de Vancouver. Il a complété ces deux cours en ligne tout en enseignant.

Au cours des neuf dernières années, Alexander a enseigné en Corée du Sud et en Chine. Il a également participé bénévolement à des projets éducatifs et environnementaux au Népal, au Kenya et en Thaïlande. De retour à North Bay, il est enthousiaste à l'idée de mettre ses connaissances, son éducation et sa passion au service d'une collectivité plus verte, plus saine et plus prospère ici à Nipissing-Timiskaming.