Markham—Unionville

Elvin Kao was raised in Markham—Unionville by first generation Canadian parents and a large extended family that had immigrated to the area. This experience instilled in him a deep sense of community and highlighted the importance of establishing strong roots.

Elvin holds a Bachelor of Mathematics from the University of Waterloo, and now works as a data analytics manager. He believes in fact-based and data-driven approaches to problem solving. He is interested in ways that the public can safely and transparently use big data to be more informed and make better decisions.

Elvin believes that small businesses are the backbone of healthy communities. He saw this firsthand through his grandfather, who was a successful entrepreneur and the owner of one of Toronto’s first Chinese grocery stores. Not only did his store provide opportunities to new immigrants, it helped establish his family and create connections with their new neighbours.

Elvin aligns himself with the Green Party of Canada because he agrees with their commitment to sustainability, small business and evidence-based decision making. He is also passionate about the global fight against climate change and reducing greenhouse gas emissions.

Markham—Unionville

Elvin Kao a été élevé à Markham-Unionville par des parents canadiens de première génération et une grande famille élargie qui avaient immigré dans la région. Cette expérience lui a inculqué un profond sens de la communauté et a souligné l'importance d'établir des racines solides.

Elvin est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en mathématiques de l'Université de Waterloo et travaille comme gestionnaire de l'analyse des données. Il croit aux approches fondées sur les faits et les données pour résoudre les problèmes. Il s'intéresse aux façons dont le public peut utiliser de façon sécuritaire et transparente les données importantes pour être mieux informé et prendre de meilleures décisions.

Elvin croit que les petites entreprises représentent l'épine dorsale de collectivités saines. Il l'a vu de ses propres yeux grâce à son grand-père, qui était un entrepreneur prospère et propriétaire de l'une des premières épiceries chinoises de Toronto. Son magasin n'a pas seulement offert des possibilités aux nouveaux immigrants. Il a également aidé à établir sa famille et à créer des liens avec leurs nouveaux concitoyens.

Elvin se présente pour le Parti vert du Canada parce qu'il appuie son engagement envers la durabilité, les petites entreprises et la prise de décisions fondées sur des données probantes. Il est également passionné par la lutte mondiale contre le changement climatique et la réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre.