London North Centre

Carol Dyck is a dedicated community leader who is actively involved with several local non-profit organizations and committees. She entered into politics during the 2015 federal election after she witnessed first-hand Canada’s tarnished reputation on the international stage due to the then government’s foot-dragging on climate action, their dismantling of environmental regulations, and their muzzling of scientists. Carol believes that the Green Party of Canada’s progressive platform offers the best opportunity for Canada to bolster its economy while simultaneously cutting our greenhouse gas emissions and safeguarding our nation’s vast and beautiful natural spaces. Originally from Vancouver, Carol has called London home for eleven years and would be proud to represent the constituents of London North Centre in Ottawa.
 
Carol has a BA in International Relations from the University of British Columbia, where she also studied French, Spanish and German. Later, she moved to Monterey, California where she completed a Master of Arts in International Environmental Policy at the Middlebury Institute of International Studies. While there she gained an interest in law, and moved to England where she earned a Master of Laws (LLM) in Environmental Law from the University of Kent. More recently, Carol realized that she wanted to expand her knowledge of science so that she could better translate scientific findings to policy makers. In 2013, Carol and her family moved to England where she earned an MSc in Biodiversity, Conservation and Management from Oxford University. She believes that tackling environmental issues happens where science, law, economics and policy intercept, and uses her diverse educational background to help facilitate that process.
 
A strong believer in giving back to the community, Carol regularly engages in volunteer work. She currently serves on the Board of Directors for both the Thames Talbot Land Trust and the London Environmental Network. She is also a Member-at-Large on the Environmental and Ecological Planning Advisory Committee to the City of London, and formerly sat on the Trees and Forests Advisory Committee. Not afraid to get her hands dirty, Carol has also worked and volunteered for ReForest London planting trees to expand the Forest City’s canopy.
 
Carol is dismayed by the federal government’s lack of true commitment to address electoral reform. She strongly believes that a shift away from first-past-the-post to proportional representation would not only address voter apathy, but would help our ruling government to work more collaboratively to set and reach long-term goals. The world’s most environmentally and socially progressive nations possess more representative voting systems; Canada could and should move in this direction.
 
Carol and her husband have been together for over twenty years and have two young daughters. She enjoys travelling and has been fortunate to live in twelve cities in six different countries. She spends much of her time supporting her daughters’ love of music and introducing them to new experiences.

London-Centre-Nord

Carol Dyck est une dirigeante communautaire dévouée qui participe activement aux activités de plusieurs organismes sans but lucratif et de plusieurs comités locaux. Elle s'est lancée en politique lors des élections fédérales de 2015 après avoir constaté la réputation ternie du Canada sur la scène internationale en raison de la lenteur du gouvernement de l'époque à prendre des mesures climatiques. Ce gouvernement s’afférait également à démanteler la réglementation environnementale et à museler les scientifiques. Carol croit que la plateforme progressiste du Parti vert du Canada offre la meilleure occasion pour le pays de stimuler son économie tout en réduisant ses émissions de gaz à effet de serre et en protégeant les vastes et beaux espaces naturels de notre pays. Originaire de Vancouver, Carol habite London depuis onze ans et serait fière de représenter les électeurs de London-Centre-Nord à Ottawa.
 
Carol est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en relations internationales de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique, où elle a également étudié le français, l'espagnol et l'allemand. Plus tard, elle a déménagé à Monterey, en Californie, où elle a obtenu une maîtrise en politique environnementale internationale au Middlebury Institute of International Studies. C'est durant cette période qu'elle s'est intéressée au droit et a déménagé en Angleterre où elle a obtenu une maîtrise en droit de l'environnement (LLM) de l'Université du Kent. Plus récemment, Carol s'est rendu compte qu'elle voulait approfondir ses connaissances scientifiques afin de pouvoir favoriser une meilleure cohabitation entre science et politique. En 2013, Carol et sa famille ont déménagé en Angleterre où elle a obtenu une maîtrise en biodiversité, conservation et gestion à l'Université d'Oxford. Elle estime que, pour s'attaquer aux problèmes environnementaux, il faut considérer à la fois la science, le droit, l'économie et la politique. Elle utilise sa formation diversifiée pour contribuer à faciliter ce processus.
 
Fermement convaincue qu'il faut redonner à la communauté, Carol s'engage régulièrement à faire du bénévolat. Elle siège actuellement au conseil d'administration du Thames Talbot Land Trust et du London Environmental Network. Elle est également membre à titre personnel du Comité consultatif d'urbanisme environnemental et écologique de la Ville de London et a siégé au Comité consultatif sur les arbres et les forêts. N'ayant pas peur de se salir les mains, Elle a également travaillé et fait du bénévolat pour ReForest London en plantant des arbres pour agrandir le couvert forestier de Forest City.
 
Carol est consternée par le manque d'engagement réel du gouvernement fédéral à l'égard de la réforme électorale. Elle croit fermement que le passage d'une représentation uninominal majoritaire à une représentation proportionnelle permettrait non seulement de lutter contre l'apathie des électeurs, mais également d'aider notre gouvernement au pouvoir à collaborer davantage pour établir et atteindre des objectifs à long terme. Les pays les plus progressistes sur les plans environnemental et social possèdent des systèmes électoraux plus représentatifs ; le Canada pourrait et devrait aller dans cette direction.
 
Carol et son mari sont ensemble depuis plus de vingt ans et ont deux jeunes filles. Elle aime voyager et a eu la chance de vivre dans douze villes de six pays différents. Elle consacre une grande partie de son temps à soutenir l'amour de la musique de ses filles et à leur faire découvrir de nouvelles expériences.