London—Fanshawe

Tom Cull is an environmentalist, poet, creative writing professor, community organizer, dad, and
partner. He completed his PhD at York University in 2012, and now teaches writing classes at Western University and King’s University College.

Tom recently completed a two-year term as Poet Laureate for the City of London where he served as a promoter of London’s literary artists and as a creator of learning opportunities for emerging artists. Tom is also the co-founder and director of Antler River Rally (formally Thames River Rally), a grassroots environmental movement that works to conserve and protect London’s waterways while promoting citizen stewardship and direct action.

Tom is an active promoter of community building, urban renewal, and environmental conservation. He has been a board member with the Urban League of London and for the Back to the River Steering Committee. For his efforts with Antler River Rally, Tom has been awarded Western’s Green Award, The Mayor’s Featured Community Organization, and Nature London’s Environmental Hero Award.

In his role as Poet Laureate, Tom worked to bridge the environment and the arts; his legacy
project involved being a lead organizer for a three-day event called “The River Talks: A Gathering at Deshkan Ziibi/Thames River.” This event —part tribute, part summit, part community gathering— included events and art focused on river ecology, hydrology, culture, history, conservation, gender, and social justice. Featuring Indigenous leaders, water protectors, water managers, conservationists, environmentalists, activists, artists, and academics, the event asked Londoners to re-imagine and respect its green spaces and water-ways.

Tom’s commitment to exploring human connections with animals and nature extends to his creative writing and is evident in his 2013 chapbook, What the Badger Said, and his 2018 full-length collection, Bad Animals.

London—Fanshawe

Tom Cull est écologiste, poète, professeur d'écriture créative, organisateur communautaire, père et membre actif de sa communauté.
partenaire. Il termine son doctorat à l'Université York en 2012 et enseigne maintenant l'écriture à l'Université Western et au King's University College.

Tom a récemment terminé un mandat de deux ans à titre de poète de la ville de London, où il a été promoteur des artistes littéraires londoniens et créateur d'occasions d'apprentissage pour les artistes émergents. Il est également cofondateur et directeur du Antler River Rally (anciennement Thames River Rally), un mouvement environnemental qui travaille à la conservation et à la protection des voies navigables de London tout en favorisant la gérance citoyenne et l'action directe.

Tom est un promoteur actif du développement communautaire, de la rénovation urbaine et de la conservation de l'environnement. Il a été membre du conseil d'administration de l'Urban League of London et du comité directeur de Back to the River. Pour ses efforts dans le cadre du Antler River Rally, Tom s'est vu décerner le Green Award de Western, le Featured Community Organization du maire et le Nature London's Environmental Hero Award.

Dans son rôle de poète, Tom s'est efforcé de faire le pont entre l'environnement et les arts.

Son projet consistait à organiser un événement de trois jours intitulé « The River Talks » : Un rassemblement à Deshkan Ziibi/Thames River. Cet événement - en partie hommage, en partie sommet, en partie rassemblement communautaire - présentait des œuvres d'art axées sur l'écologie fluviale, l'hydrologie, la culture, l'histoire, la conservation, le genre et la justice sociale. Mettant en vedette des dirigeants autochtones, des protecteurs de l'eau, des gestionnaires de l'eau, des conservationnistes, des environnementalistes, des activistes, des artistes et des universitaires. Les organisateurs de l'événement a demandé aux citoyens de réimaginer et de respecter leurs espaces verts et leurs cours d'eau.

L'engagement de Tom à explorer les liens de l'homme avec les animaux et la nature s'étend à son écriture créative et est évident dans son livre de 2013 What the Badger Said et dans sa collection complète de 2018 Bad Animals.