Guelph

Steve Dyck is the founder and President of Guelph Solar, and has played an instrumental role in creating green economy jobs in Guelph since 2009. His company was presented “The Excellence in Business Award” from the Guelph Chamber Commerce in 2016, in recognition of their pioneering work. It is Steve’s dedication to community and future generations that drives his commitment to a sustainable world.

Steve lives in Guelph with his spouse, best friend and life partner Vera. They are the proud parents of two adult children, Nathan (27) and Amber (25). Steve and Vera pride themselves on being energizing community leaders, and have deep connections in Guelph’s social justice community having participated for many years in Guelph Wellington’s Bridges Out of Poverty Circle. In addition, they are founding members of a multi-faith bridging group to build peace through friendship.

In 2016, Steve received "The Guelph Bridge Builders Award" from the Muslim Society of Guelph, recognizing his efforts to connect diverse communities through friendship. Steve is also a volunteer for the Guelph Citizens Climate Lobby and has travelled to Ottawa to engage MPs to create a carbon price that is transparent, fair and revenue neutral.

As a key organizer and active member of Fair Vote Guelph and Democracy Guelph, Steve has helped organize numerous town halls and debates on electoral reform. Steve believes we have a democracy deficit and that the current electoral process must evolve to ensure that every vote counts.

Steve is an energetic and dedicated member of the Green Party and was a Guelph Green candidate in the 2011 provincial election. He is a regular participant at both Green Party of Canada and Green Party of Ontario conventions, and was a former Vice President of the Guelph Green Executive as well as a chief fundraiser in the recent successful provincial campaign.

Steve is a trusted green business voice in Guelph and hopes his years of outstanding public service and living green values will allow him to best serve the residents of Guelph and Canada.

Guelph

Steve Dyck est le fondateur et président de Guelph Solar et joue un rôle déterminant dans la création d'emplois dans l'économie verte à Guelph depuis 2009. Son entreprise a reçu le prix « The Excellence in Business Award » de la Chambre de commerce de Guelph en 2016, en reconnaissance de son travail de pionnier. C'est le dévouement de Steve envers la collectivité et les générations futures qui motive son engagement envers un monde durable.

Steve habite à Guelph avec son épouse, sa meilleure amie et sa partenaire de vie Vera. Ils sont les fiers parents de deux enfants adultes, Nathan (27 ans) et Amber (25 ans). Steve et Vera sont fiers d'être des leaders communautaires énergisants et ont des liens profonds avec la communauté de justice sociale de Guelph, ayant participé pendant de nombreuses années au cercle Bridges Out of Poverty de Guelph Wellington. En outre, ils sont membres fondateurs d'un groupe de liaison multiconfessionnel pour construire la paix par l'amitié.

En 2016, Steve reçoit le prix Guelph Bridge Builders Award de la Muslim Society of Guelph en reconnaissance de ses efforts pour relier les diverses communautés par l'amitié. Steve est également bénévole pour le Guelph Citizens Climate Lobby et s'est rendu à Ottawa pour inciter les députés à créer un prix du carbone qui soit transparent, équitable et sans incidence sur les revenus.

En tant qu'organisateur clé et membre actif de Fair Vote Guelph et Democracy Guelph, Steve contribue à organiser de nombreuses assemblées publiques et débats sur la réforme électorale. Steve estime que nous avons un déficit démocratique et que le processus électoral actuel doit évoluer pour s'assurer que chaque vote compte.

Steve est un membre énergique et dévoué du Parti vert et a été un candidat vert de Guelph aux élections provinciales de 2011. Il participe régulièrement aux congrès du Parti vert du Canada et du Parti vert de l'Ontario, et il a été vice-président du Guelph Green Executive et chef de la collecte de fonds lors de la récente campagne provinciale couronnée de succès.

Steve est une voix d'entreprise verte de confiance à Guelph et espère que ses années de service public exceptionnel et ses valeurs écologiques lui permettront de mieux servir les résidents de Guelph et du Canada.