Don Valley West

Hoping to better equip herself as an instrument for change on environmental policy, Amanda studied International Relations and French Literature at Concordia University and spent several years familiarizing herself with the forestry industry and its effect on the fiscal, political, and socio-economic landscape of northern communities and indigenous populations.

She presently holds concurrent certifications with the United Nations for 'Working in Natural Disasters' and 'Working in Complex Emergencies' and is a consultant in times of international crisis when natural disasters hit. It was through mangrove reforestation efforts in the Philippines after Typhoon Haiyan in 2013 that she was truly moved by the power of involving local communities in environmental restoration efforts. More specifically, how raising awareness of the economic and social importance of preserving wildlife populations and their habitats may, as a result of coordinated action, become firmly embedded in national policy on biodiversity, sustainable development, and climate change agreements.

In 2015, she established the Cambodian Centre for Biodiversity in the lower Mekong Basin of Cambodia, which contains three of the most important tributaries to the Mekong: the Se Kong, Se San, and Srepok Rivers. Among the many development projects they have since undertaken is an expansive native plant nursery that aids afforestation efforts by growing the trees and vegetation necessary to replenish the diminished forest cover in key wildlife corridors between protected areas.

Because of her work with inter-tidal coastal ecosystems and their preservation within Cambodia, Amanda was invited by the International Tropical Timber Organization (ITTO) to attend the International Conference on Sustainable Mangrove Ecosystems in Bali, Indonesia in 2017. The conference was organized jointly with the Ministry of Environment and Forestry of Indonesia and the International Society for Mangrove Ecosystems (ISME), with the collaboration of many external partners such as the Center for International Forestry Research (CIFOR).

Amanda is a Search and Rescue Engineer by trade and a member of the Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs, serving on the Heavy Urban Search and Rescue committee. In her spare time —when she's not busy advocating for forest stewardship councils and fighting for land rights— she is most at home when she is far from the city, working with her daughter on their newly established farm.

Don Valley-Ouest

Amanda Kistindey est une Acadienne métisse. Son fort héritage ancestral façonne son plaidoyer pour la préservation de la terre sur laquelle ses ancêtres ont déjà prospéré. Dans l'espoir de mieux s'outiller en tant que génératrice de changement en matière de politique environnementale, elle a étudié les relations internationales et la littérature française à l'Université Concordia et passe plusieurs années à se familiariser avec l'industrie forestière et ses effets sur le paysage fiscal, politique et socio-économique des communautés et populations autochtones du Nord.

Elle détient des certifications des Nations Unies pour « Travailler dans le domaine des catastrophes naturelles » et « Travailler dans les situations d'urgence complexes » et est consultante en temps de crise internationale lorsque des catastrophes naturelles surviennent. C'est grâce aux efforts de reboisement des mangroves aux Philippines après le typhon Haiyan en 2013 qu'elle fut réellement motivée par la possibilité d'impliquer les communautés locales dans les efforts de restauration environnementale. Plus précisément, comment la sensibilisation à l'importance économique et sociale de la préservation des populations fauniques et de leurs habitats peut, grâce à une action coordonnée, s'ancrer fermement dans les politiques nationales sur la biodiversité, le développement durable et les accords sur le changement climatique.

En 2015, elle crée le Centre cambodgien pour la biodiversité dans le bassin inférieur du Mékong au Cambodge, qui contient trois des plus importants affluents du Mékong : le Se Kong, le Se San et le Srepok. Parmi les nombreux projets de développement qu'ils ont entrepris depuis, mentionnons une vaste pépinière de plantes indigènes qui facilite les efforts de boisement en faisant pousser les arbres et la végétation nécessaires pour reconstituer le couvert forestier réduit dans les principaux corridors fauniques entre les aires protégées.

En raison de son travail sur les écosystèmes côtiers intertidaux et leur préservation au Cambodge, Amanda fut invitée par l'Organisation internationale des bois tropicaux (OIBT) à assister à la Conférence internationale sur les écosystèmes de mangroves durables à Bali, Indonésie, en 2017. La conférence a été organisée conjointement avec le Ministère indonésien de l'environnement et des forêts et l'International Society for Mangrove Ecosystems (ISME), avec la collaboration de nombreux partenaires extérieurs tels que le Center for International Forestry Research (CIFOR).

Amanda est ingénieure en recherche et sauvetage de profession et membre de l'Association canadienne des chefs de pompiers et siège au comité de recherche et sauvetage en milieu urbain lourd. Dans ses temps libres - quand elle n'est pas occupée à défendre les conseils d'intendance des forêts et à lutter pour les droits fonciers - elle est plus à l'aise quand elle est loin de la ville. Elle travaille avec sa fille sur leur ferme nouvellement établie.