Brampton East

Teresa Burgess-Ogilvie spent a thirty-year career as a public servant in the military, municipal government and public-private sector in both Canada and the United States. Having served many years as the Manager of the Office of Emergency Management for the City of Mississauga, she understands the on-the-ground sustainability issues for those engaged in emergency and disaster preparedness.
 
Teresa also served as the Grants Funding Coordinator for the City of Mississauga with grant funding responsibilities in former positions having raised over $3.2 million in-kind for projects and resources. 
 
When Teresa first immigrated to Canada in 2007, her first Canadian job was the founding Executive Director for Safe City Mississauga, a crime prevention association. Teresa advocated for social justice programs that were evidenced-based to decrease violent crimes among youth, adults and seniors. She has earned a reputation as a community safety professional.
 
Teresa has served on boards, worked in government and mentored many young people creating a deep respect for diversity and inclusion – making sure there were many voices on an issue and that everyone got a chance to participate. In 2011, she was selected as one of the Greater Toronto region’s most creative and inspiring civic leaders to advance innovative economic, social and environmental solutions by the Greater Toronto Summit. 
 
In the United States, Teresa served as the Executive Director of Nature Coast Emergency Medical Foundation, as well as the Emergency Medical Services Chief and the Planning Commission Coordinator for Monroe County, Florida. She began her career in public service as an Intelligence Specialist in the United States Navy, where she earned two Navy Achievement Medals and was COMLATWINGPAC Sailor of the Year nominee. While serving in the military, she earned a Bachelor’s in Business from the University of the State of New York. She also holds an MBA from Webster University.
  
Teresa is working on the first release of The Red Guide to Recovery for Canada and was recognized by provincial and federal governments for Hazard Identification and Risk Assessment (HIRA) and Critical Infrastructure Assurance programs. She is a member of the International Association of Emergency Managers and authored the reply to the federal government on the EM Strategy for Canada. She is a member of the Steering Committee for the Province of Ontario IMS 2.0 and received numerous awards for work in hurricane planning, evacuation of persons with special needs and served as an Examiner for the State of Florida Governor’s Sterling Board. 

Teresa is a wife, stepmom and mee-maw to five beautiful grandchildren.

Brampton-Est

Teresa Burgess-Ogilvie a fait carrière pendant trente ans comme fonctionnaire dans l'armée, les administrations municipales et les secteurs public-privé au Canada et aux États-Unis. Ayant occupé pendant de nombreuses années le poste de gestionnaire du Bureau de la gestion des urgences de la ville de Mississauga, elle comprend les questions de durabilité sur le terrain pour ceux qui s'occupent de la préparation aux urgences et aux catastrophes.
 
Teresa a également été coordonnatrice du financement des subventions pour la ville de Mississauga, avec des responsabilités de financement des subventions dans d'anciens postes, ayant recueilli plus de 3,2 millions de dollars en nature pour des projets et des ressources. 
 
Lorsque Teresa a immigré au Canada en 2007, son premier emploi canadien a été celui de directrice générale fondatrice de Safe City Mississauga, une association de prévention du crime. Teresa a plaidé en faveur de programmes de justice sociale fondés sur des données probantes pour réduire les crimes violents chez les jeunes, les adultes et les personnes âgées. Elle a acquis une réputation de professionnelle de la sécurité communautaire.
 
Teresa a siégé à des conseils d'administration, travaillé au sein du gouvernement et encadré de nombreux jeunes, créant ainsi un profond respect pour la diversité et l'inclusion - s'assurant qu'il y avait beaucoup de voix sur une question et que chacun avait la possibilité de participer. En 2011, elle a été choisie comme l'un des leaders civiques les plus créatifs et les plus inspirants de la région du Grand Toronto pour promouvoir des solutions économiques, sociales et environnementales novatrices lors du Sommet du Grand Toronto. 
 
Aux États-Unis, Teresa a été directrice générale de la Nature Coast Emergency Medical Foundation ainsi que chef des services médicaux d'urgence et coordonnatrice de la Planning Commission pour le comté de Monroe, en Floride. Elle a commencé sa carrière dans la fonction publique en tant que spécialiste du renseignement dans la marine américaine, où elle a reçu deux médailles d'honneur de la marine et a été nommée Navigatrice de l'année du COMLATWINGPAC. Pendant son service militaire, elle a obtenu un baccalauréat en administration des affaires de l'Université de l'État de New York. Elle est également titulaire d'un MBA de l'Université Webster.
  
Teresa travaille à la première version du Guide rouge du rétablissement pour le Canada et a été reconnue par les gouvernements provinciaux et fédéral pour ses programmes d'identification des dangers et d'évaluation des risques (IDER) et d'assurance des infrastructures essentielles. Elle est membre de l'Association internationale des gestionnaires de situations d'urgence et a rédigé la réponse au gouvernement fédéral sur la stratégie de SE pour le Canada. Elle est membre du comité directeur de l'IMS 2.0 de la province de l'Ontario et a reçu de nombreux prix pour son travail de planification des ouragans et d'évacuation des personnes ayant des besoins spéciaux. Elle a également été examinatrice pour le State of Florida Governor's Sterling Board. 

Teresa est une épouse, une belle-mère et la mamie de cinq beaux petits-enfants.