Algoma—Manitoulin—Kapuskasing

Max Chapman lives in Little Current, Manitoulin Island. He was raised on Manitoulin, and considers himself to have been shaped by the rural landscapes and community driven lifestyle of the Island. A graduate of Manitoulin Secondary School, and a student at Queen’s University, Max was motivated to run for the Green Party of Canada by a commitment to make his community an even more compassionate and inspiring place to live. 

Max comes from a family of commercial fishermen on Lake Huron and a working class family who have always been connected to the environment through both their livelihood and play. He believes that clean and safe food, air, water, and soil are key to protecting and nurturing prosperity, and that creativity and imagination are integral to innovation, and a future where all Canadians can thrive. Max understands firsthand the negative impacts that climate change and poor governance have on rural and farming communities.

Without immediate action and innovative solutions, communities that rely on the land and lakes of Northern Ontario will suffer. Max has been an outdoor educator with the YMCA of Northeastern Ontario for the last five years, he believes that inspiring youth through interactive programming based in nature is essential to ensuring the continued protection of our ecosystem. 

Max has been a tireless advocate for the integrity of the lakes, forests, rivers, and wildlife of Algoma—Manitoulin—Kapuskasing, and sees their protection as vital to our local way of life. As an MP, he will fight to ensure sustainability and conservation are at the centre of all government decision making.

Algoma—Manitoulin—Kapuskasing

Max Chapman vit à Little Current, sur l'île Manitoulin. Il a grandi à Manitoulin et se considère lui-même comme ayant été façonné par les paysages ruraux et le mode de vie communautaire de l'île. Diplômé de l'école secondaire de Manitoulin et étudiant à l'Université Queen's, Max était motivé à se porter candidat pour le Parti vert du Canada par un engagement à faire de sa communauté un endroit encore plus compatissant et inspirant. 

Max est issu d'une famille de pêcheurs commerciaux sur le lac Huron et d'une famille de travailleurs qui ont toujours été liés à l'environnement par leur gagne-pain et leurs loisirs. Il croit que des aliments, de l'air, de l'eau et des sols propres et salubres sont essentiels à la protection et au maintien de la prospérité et que la créativité et l'imagination font partie intégrante de l'innovation et d'un avenir où tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes peuvent prospérer. Max comprend les impacts négatifs du changement climatique et de la mauvaise gouvernance sur les communautés rurales et agricoles.

Sans une action immédiate et des solutions novatrices, les collectivités qui dépendent des terres et des lacs du Nord ontarien souffriront. Max est éducateur en plein air au YMCA du Nord-Est de l'Ontario depuis cinq ans. Il croit qu'il est essentiel d'inspirer les jeunes par des programmes interactifs basés sur la nature pour assurer la protection continue de notre écosystème. 

Max a été un défenseur infatigable de l'intégrité des lacs, des forêts, des rivières et de la faune d'Algoma-Manitoulin-Kapuskasing et considère leur protection comme vitale pour notre mode de vie local. En tant que député, il se battra pour que la durabilité et la conservation soient au centre de toutes les décisions gouvernementales.