Salaberry—Suroît

Nahed AlShawa is a writer, business consultant, publisher, speaker and team builder who is passionate about making an impact in society by helping others, organizing cultural events and promoting humanitarian values.

Nahed earned an MBA from the University of Liverpool, and a BSc in Computer Science and Mathematics from Richmond University, London. To satisfy her love for art and colour, she also earned a diploma in arts from Richmond University in 1990. Nahed also attended several banking courses at Citibank when she held the product manager position there from 1990 to 1994. 

Nahed has over 12 years of experience as a business consultant. At present, she is a voluntary business mentor at YES Montreal. Primarily, Nahed is a writer who specialises in children’s literature. She founded Noon Books Publishing House, whose mission is to publish children’s books that aim to build the mindset of a global citizen. She has attended many training workshops in children’s literature including with UNICEF. 

Nahed has written over 100 books in the field of children’s literature. Many of her books promote social justice, freedom of expression and environmentalism. A number of her publications are used by childhood programmes at the United Nations, and some of her books have been accredited in the Arabic language curriculum at both the Université du Québec à Montréal and the Université de Montréal. 

Moreover, some of Nahed’s titles have been recognised at important Arab forums and received prizes such as the Communications Award and the Arab Thought Foundation Award. Her book A Dream or Two won the 2018 Sharjah Children’s Best Book Award. Nahed is currently working to translate a collection of her books into English, French, Turkish and Malay.

Nahed founded the Arab-Canadian Cultural Centre in Montreal in 2015, which aims to build cultural and humanitarian bridges between Arab Canadians and other communities. Under her leadership, several cultural forums were held for students at universities in Montreal. When speaking, Nahed often focuses on supporting the role of women in the local and global economy, encouraging reading and promoting the concepts of global citizenship.

Salaberry—Suroît

Nahed AlShawa est une écrivaine, une consultante en affaires, une éditrice, une conférencière et une chef d'équipe qui se passionne pour exercer un impact dans la société en aidant les autres, en organisant des événements culturels et en faisant la promotion des valeurs humanitaires.

Nahed est titulaire d'un MBA de l'Université de Liverpool et d'un BSc en informatique et mathématiques de l'Université de Richmond à Londres. Pour satisfaire son amour de l'art, elle a aussi obtenu un diplôme en arts de l'Université de Richmond en 1990. Nahed a également suivi plusieurs cours bancaires à la Citibank où elle a occupé le poste de chef de produit de 1990 à 1994. 

Nahed a plus de 12 ans d'expérience en tant que consultante en affaires. À l'heure actuelle, elle est mentor bénévole en affaires chez YES Montréal. Nahed est avant tout une écrivaine spécialisée dans la littérature pour enfants. Elle a fondé la maison d'édition Noon Books Publishing House, dont la mission est d'éditer des livres pour enfants qui visent à construire l'état d'esprit d'un citoyen du monde. Elle a participé à de nombreux ateliers de formation en littérature pour enfants, notamment avec l'UNICEF. 

Nahed a écrit plus de 100 livres dans le domaine de la littérature jeunesse. Plusieurs de ses livres font la promotion de la justice sociale, de la liberté d'expression et de l'environnementalisme. Plusieurs de ses publications sont également utilisées par les programmes de l'enfance des Nations Unies et certains de ses livres ont été accrédités dans le programme de langue arabe à l'Université du Québec à Montréal et à l'Université de Montréal. 

De plus, certains titres de Nahed ont été reconnus lors d'importants forums arabes et ont reçu des récompenses telles que le prix de la communication et le prix de la Fondation de la pensée arabe. Son livre A Dream or Two a remporté le Sharjah Children's Best Book Award 2018. Nahed travaille actuellement à la traduction d'une collection de ses livres en anglais, en français, en turc et en malais.

Nahed a fondé le Centre culturel arabo-canadien à Montréal en 2015. Ce centre vise à établir des ponts culturels et humanitaires entre les Canadiens et les Canadiennes arabes et les autres communautés. Sous sa direction, plusieurs forums culturels ont été organisés à l'intention des étudiants des universités de Montréal. Lorsqu'elle prend la parole, Nahed se concentre souvent sur le soutien du rôle des femmes dans l'économie locale et mondiale en encourageant la lecture et en promouvant les concepts de la citoyenneté mondiale.