Pontiac

The second of three children from a French-speaking family, Claude Bertrand grew up between Ottawa and Chicoutimi, before the family settled in Alma in Lac St-Jean. In 1973, he began learning English by moving to Calgary for a summer, followed by studies at John Abbott College in Sainte-Anne de Bellevue. He studied at McGill University but took a break from his studies in 1979 to discover the world, including visiting Europe and Israel, where he worked in a Kibbutz. In 1981, he completed his studies and obtained a Bachelor's degree in rural engineering.

In 1997, Claude decided to pursue his childhood dream of becoming an aircraft pilot and joined the Canadian Armed Forces.  He obtained his pilot wings in 1998 and in 2007 started to fly helicopters including the CH-146 Griffon for 439 Combat Support Squadron.

In 2009, Claude was loaned to 438 Squadron and sent to Afghanistan, where he completed 76 missions in the Afghan skies before returning to CFB Bagotville in 2010. In 2012, he was assigned to NATO ground in Germany and retired in March 2016.

He has since lived in his cottage on the shores of Lac Bernard in the Outaouais Hills.

Pontiac

Deuxième de trois enfants d'une famille francophone, Claude Bertrand passe son enfance à Ottawa et à Chicoutimi avant que sa famille ne s'installe à Alma au Lac St-Jean. En 1973, il commence à apprendre l'anglais en déménageant à Calgary pour un été et il étudie ensuite au Collège John Abbott à Sainte-Anne de Bellevue. Il étudie ensuite à l'Université McGill, mais il décide de prendre une pause dans ses études en 1979 pour voyager, notamment en Europe et en Israël, où il a travaillé dans un kibboutz. En 1981, il termine ses études et obtient un baccalauréat en génie rural.

En 1997, Claude décide de réaliser son rêve d'enfance de devenir pilote d'avion et s'enrôle dans les Forces armées canadiennes. Il obtient ses ailes de pilote en 1998 et commence à piloter des hélicoptères en 2007, dont le CH-146 Griffon pour le 439e Escadron d'appui au combat.

En 2009, Claude est prêté au 438e Escadron et envoyé en Afghanistan, où il effectue 76 missions dans le ciel afghan avant de retourner à la BFC Bagotville en 2010. En 2012, il est affecté à l’opération terrestre de l'OTAN en Allemagne et prend sa retraite en mars 2016.

Il vit actuellement dans son chalet sur les rives du lac Bernard situées dans les collines de l'Outaouais.