Acadie—Bathurst

Robert Kryszko is a federally recognized status Indian (Mi'gmag) from Pabineau First Nation. He graduated from Bathurst High School in 1982, and from the 1980s to the early 2000s, Robert held executive positions in the commercial and communal fisheries, forestry, and housing sectors. He also has plenty of experience in policy and procedure development and implementation, and has served as an executive member on committees including the: Conflict of Interest Committee, Salmon Enhancement and Conservation Committee, Timber Harvest and Management Committee, Residential Housing Rehabilitation Committee, and Community Planning Committee.

Robert was elected as the Councillor for the Pabineau First Nation in 2004, and was subsequently re-elected for another term in office. Within the first two years of his council’s term in office, they had lifted Pabineau out of 3rd party management and increased own-source revenue to a record level. In 2004, approximately 60% of community members had employment, and by 2006 over 90% of community members were working.

Robert is the first aboriginal in NBCC Miramichi campus history to be elected as Vice President to the NBCC Student Representative Council and Board of Directors. Not long after, in November of 2010, Robert was the first Aboriginal to be elected as Vice President on the Provincial Council of Student Executives; representing over 5,000 post-secondary students. Robert received a diploma in business administration and marketing from NBCC in 2011.

Robert knows that his experience negotiating complex agreements and spearheading economic development projects, alongside his passion for decreasing poverty and creating sustainable community wealth, will serve him well as the representative for Acadie—Bathurst.

Acadie—Bathurst

Robert Kryszko est un autochtone de la Première Nation de Pabineau. Il a obtenu son diplôme de l'école secondaire de Bathurst en 1982 et, des années 1980 au début des années 2000, il a occupé des postes de direction dans les secteurs des pêches commerciales et communautaires, de la foresterie et du logement. Il possède également une vaste expérience de l'élaboration et de la mise en œuvre de politiques et de procédures et il a siégé à titre de membre de l'exécutif de plusieurs comités : le Comité des conflits d'intérêts, le Comité de mise en valeur et de conservation du saumon, le Comité de gestion et de récolte du bois, le Comité de remise en état des logements résidentiels et le Comité de planification communautaire.

Robert a été élu conseiller de la Première Nation de Pabineau en 2004, puis réélu pour un second mandat. Au cours des deux premières années du mandat de son conseil, lui et son équipe ont retiré Pabineau de la gestion par un tiers et augmenté les revenus autonomes à un niveau record. En 2004, environ 60 % des membres de la collectivité avaient un emploi et, en 2006, plus de 90 % d'entre eux travaillaient.

Robert est le premier autochtone de l'histoire du campus de Miramichi du CCNB à être élu vice-président du Conseil des représentants étudiants et du conseil d'administration du CCNB. Peu de temps après, en novembre 2010, Robert a été le premier Autochtone à être élu vice-président du Conseil provincial des cadres étudiants, représentant plus de 5 000 étudiants  postsecondaire. Robert a obtenu un diplôme en administration des affaires et en marketing du CCNB en 2011.

Robert sait que son expérience de la négociation d'ententes complexes et de la direction de projets de développement économique, ainsi que sa passion pour la réduction de la pauvreté et la création d'une richesse communautaire durable, lui seront bien utiles en tant que député d'Acadie-Bathurst.