South Shore—St. Margarets

Dr. Thomas Trappenberg lived in Halifax and Upper Tantallon before moving with his wife and two children to Hatchet Lake in 2002. A professor of computer science at Dalhousie University, he holds a PhD in Physics and has held research positions in Canada, Japan, and Oxford, England. His main research areas are computational neuroscience, machine learning and robotics. 

Thomas is the author of a well-known textbook on computational neuroscience published by Oxford University Press, and has been on the executive of the Dalhousie Faculty Association. Additionally, he co-founded Nexus Robotics, with whom he won a weeding robot competition in the US in 2018. He is currently working on applying AI to a number of other areas in the food industry and in medical applications.

Thomas has a long history with the Green Party. He served as inaugural president of two federal electoral district associations (Halifax and Halifax West), supported Elizabeth May in her leadership bid for the Green Party of Canada, represented Nova Scotia on council of the Federal Party in 2007 and 2008, co-organized the founding of the Green Party of Nova Scotia, and ran as a federal and provincial candidate in multiple elections. Since 2016, Thomas has served as the leader of the Green Party of Nova Scotia. 

In addition to his political volunteering, Thomas stays active in the community by teaching karate at the Prospect Road Community Centre. He is also the president of the Halifax-Hakodate Friendship association, which works to build links with our twin-town Hakodate in Japan. His wife was the first exchange student following the twinning. 

Given Thomas’ background in science, he strongly believes that the need for climate action is urgent. He also believes that we are ignoring opportunities for Nova Scotia to develop local, sustainable resources and talents. He is convinced that we can build a vibrant economy, ecology, and society with a sensible and respectful government. Finally, Thomas thinks that the most important issue in this election is to convince people to vote and get involved. Apathy is not the solution to bad government.

South Shore—St. Margarets

Thomas Trappenberg a vécu à Halifax et à Upper Tantallon avant de déménager avec sa femme et ses deux enfants à Hatchet Lake en 2002. Professeur d'informatique à l'Université Dalhousie, il détient un doctorat en physique et a occupé des postes de recherche au Canada, au Japon et à Oxford, en Angleterre. Ses principaux domaines de recherche sont les neurosciences computationnelles, l'apprentissage machine et la robotique. 

Thomas est l'auteur d'un manuel bien connu sur les neurosciences computationnelles publié par Oxford University Press et il a fait partie du comité exécutif de la Dalhousie Faculty Association. Il a également co-fondé Nexus Robotics, avec lequel il a remporté un concours de robots désherbeurs aux Etats-Unis en 2018. Il travaille actuellement à l'application de l'IA à un certain nombre d'autres domaines de l'industrie alimentaire et des applications médicales.

Thomas a une longue histoire avec le Parti vert. Il a été le premier président de deux associations de circonscription fédérales (Halifax et Halifax-Ouest), a appuyé Elizabeth May dans sa candidature à la direction du Parti vert du Canada, a représenté la Nouvelle-Écosse au conseil du Parti fédéral en 2007 et 2008, a co organisé la fondation du Parti vert de la Nouvelle-Écosse et s'est présenté comme candidat fédéral et provincial dans de multiples élections. Depuis 2016, Thomas est le chef du Parti vert de la Nouvelle-Écosse. 

En plus de son bénévolat politique, Thomas demeure actif dans la communauté en enseignant le karaté au Prospect Road Community Centre. Il est également président de l'association d'amitié Halifax-Hakodate, qui travaille à établir des liens avec notre ville jumelle Hakodate au Japon. Sa femme fut la première étudiante d'échange après le jumelage. 

Compte tenu de sa formation scientifique, Thomas croit fermement qu'il est urgent d'agir pour le climat. Il croit également que nous ignorons les occasions qui s'offrent à la Nouvelle-Écosse de mettre en valeur les ressources et les talents locaux et durables. Il est convaincu que nous pouvons bâtir une économie, une écologie et une société dynamiques avec un gouvernement raisonnable et respectueux. Enfin, Thomas pense que l’enjeu le plus important dans cette élection est de convaincre les gens de voter et de s'impliquer. L'apathie n'est pas la solution à un mauvais gouvernement.