Kings—Hants

Brogan Anderson has called the Annapolis Valley home for the past 18 years, and is active in the community with the local chapter of the Sierra Club and the Council of Canadians. She works at the Annapolis Valley Regional Library, where you may have seen her in the last decade and a half reading stories to children or matching a reader with a new book. She and her partner Peter Gillis have two children, Zoë and Sacha. Fluently bilingual in English and French, Brogan was born and grew up near Quebec City and straddles her two linguistic identities. 

Brogan is passionate about a variety of environmental and social issues, from preventing and mitigating climate change to welcoming immigrants and refugees in a way that promotes peace, equity and harmony.

Brogan is eager to present herself as a candidate for the Green Party in the upcoming election because she believes that the single largest infrastructure project in the history of Canada must be the transition from a petroleum-based to a Green-based economy. She is particularly passionate about the need to substantially alter our transportation infrastructure to prioritize mass transit. She also sees a massive role for local business owners in our future green economy – from the reinvigoration of local food and agricultural networks to the development of robust provincial recycling programs.

Brogan is keen to build on the history of social activism in this province and believes that the solutions to large scale environmental concerns are actually to the benefit of all. Our resilient communities, small-scale businesses and ability to rely on each other are what will see us through. 

Brogan is excited to engage with all the residents of Kings-Hants over the coming months, and sharing with them her vision for a sustainable, prosperous and zero-carbon future.

Kings—Hants

Brogan Anderson vit dans la vallée de l'Annapolis depuis les 18 dernières années et joue un rôle actif au sein de la collectivité avec la section locale du Sierra Club et le Conseil des Canadiens. Elle travaille à la Bibliothèque régionale de la vallée de l'Annapolis, où vous l'avez peut-être vue au cours des quinze dernières années en train de lire des histoires aux enfants ou de présenter un nouveau livre à un lecteur. Elle et son partenaire Peter Gillis ont deux enfants, Zoë et Sacha. Parfaitement bilingue en français et en anglais - Brogan est née et a grandi près de Québec - elle est fière de ses deux identités linguistiques. 

Brogan se passionne pour une variété de questions environnementales et sociales, de la prévention et de l'atténuation des changements climatiques à l'accueil des immigrants et des réfugiés d'une manière qui favorise la paix, l'équité et l'harmonie.

Brogan est impatiente de se présenter comme candidate du Parti vert aux prochaines élections parce qu'elle croit que le plus grand projet d'infrastructure de l'histoire du Canada doit être la transition d'une économie basée sur le pétrole à une économie verte. Elle est particulièrement passionnée par la nécessité de modifier en profondeur notre infrastructure de transport afin d'accorder la priorité au transport en commun. Elle voit également un rôle important pour les propriétaires d'entreprises locales dans notre future économie verte, de la revitalisation des réseaux alimentaires et agricoles locaux à l'élaboration de solides programmes provinciaux de recyclage.

M. Brogan tient à s'appuyer sur l'histoire de l'activisme social dans cette province et croit que les solutions aux préoccupations environnementales à grande échelle sont en fait à l'avantage de tous. Nos communautés résilientes, nos petites entreprises et notre capacité à compter les uns sur les autres nous permettront de nous en sortir. 

Brogan est ravie de s'engager avec tous les résidents de Kings-Hants au cours des prochains mois et de partager avec eux sa vision d'un avenir durable, prospère et sans carbone.